Return of the Blog (with some exciting news)

Oh, hi there.  It’s been a while since I’ve blogged, but I’ve had good reason.

The end of 2012 was in a word, awesome for us.  We had a rough go of most of the year, but the last few months were amazing to us.  Things finally fell into place and not only were we able to buy a house, (we move in February and can. not. wait) we found out we are expecting our first baby.  We found out in mid November (the day after my last blog post), and I just decided to stop blogging because I knew I couldn’t contain such a big part of our lives if I continued to blog like normal.

But, now we’re out in the open with Baby Goods, (or “tater” as Chris lovingly referred to it last night since all I want to eat is mashed potatoes & gravy) I’m back on the blog.  I’m sure it’s going to turn into baby central over here, but that’s okay, because it’s part of the journey.  :)

Since we found out we’re pregnant, we’ve had two ultrasounds, which were incredible.  The first was at six weeks which was a confirmation of the pregnancy, and then the next one was at 8 weeks to make sure baby was growing at the right pace and also to get a more definitive due date (July 26th if you’re curious!).

6 weeks

6 Week Ultrasound

Baby G 12_12

8 Week Ultrasound

At the first ultrasound, we were able to see the heartbeat on the screen, which was one of the most amazing things I think either one of us has experienced in our lives.  I was also in awe of just how tiny Baby Goods was that early on.  Fast forward a few weeks, and I was shocked to see how much bigger Baby Goods had gotten in just a few short weeks (you can actually start to see the beginnings of the arm & leg buds – insane) No wonder I’m so exhausted – this baby is doing some serious growing!

At this point (11 weeks), Baby Goods is the size of a lime.  A lime!!  The next steps for us are hearing the heartbeat (not just seeing it) next week (on my birthday!!)!  And yes, we are going to find out the gender which should be in early March.  :)

So yeah, it’s been a crazy couple of months over here.  They aren’t kidding when they say pregnancy is exhausting (I also feel permanently hung over, and morning sickness has just started to creep up on me), but it will all be so worth it.

It’s such a relief to share our exciting news, and we are just so excited for 2013 and this new adventure as a little family.  :)

2 thoughts on “Return of the Blog (with some exciting news)

Leave a Reply

