Finding Some Good

So with all of the sky is falling/our world is going up in flames/which way is up/wtf is happening  stuff going on in our world, I sometimes have to remind myself to focus on the good.  We are at a turning point in all of this hell we’ve been going through, and I think we’re finally starting to see the proverbial light.

First of all, we got really great news at the infectious disease doctor yesterday.  We were really nervous since Chris’ labs were less than stellar last week, but doc was happy and his infection markers are dropping which means the antibiotics are working.  Hooray!  Good news!!  High fives and fist bumps all around (really, that happened in the office) The plan is to continue the IV antibiotics for another month because they’re treating it as if the infection got into the bone, soooo, the bummer is that the IV has to continue (whatever, we prepared ourselves for six weeks, but I was secretly hoping it would be removed sooner), BUT, the good news is that the IV is going to be removed in about four weeks.

Also, physical therapy is working and the strength in Chris’ knee is slowly but surely coming back.  Thank Britney Butterflies and Unicorns the lords.  I’m super optimistic that all will be back to normal by the end of September/beginning of October and this will ultimately be a blip on the radar in our lives.

Sooooooooooo, if all goes as planned, this will all shake out just in time for our first anniversary.  :)  I’m not quite sure what we’re going to be doing yet, but I do have a few things in mind.  We were hoping to take a trip to celebrate our first anniversary, but with everything that has happened, I think we’ll end up staying local and do something low-key but still special.  I’ve also started thinking about the one year gift, sticking with the traditional gift of paper, and I have a few good ideas that I hope pan out.  Just another thing to look forward to!

In the coming months, we have friends coming to visit, and at some point, we’ll take some trips back home to Virginia (we haven’t been since May!), and then, soon enough, the holidays will be here!  I can’t wait because Labor day til January is my most favorite time of the year.

So really, through all of the bad that we’ve gone through in the past month or two, we really do have a lot to look forward to in the coming months.  We’re on the up and up and there is a lot of good as we make our way out of the bad.

One thought on “Finding Some Good

  1. Hi Natalie,
    I’m so glad that you and Chris have had some good news. I was wondering how things had gone with the liver test… I’m pleased the physio is going well too. I’ve just started my physio after yet more surgery and it’s hard going isn’t it, especially in the early days. He’s a lucky chap having you to look after him so well.
    I’m new to blogging and leaving comments etc – I somehow managed to leave a comment for you on your contact page – silly me! – I hope you found it.
    Keep smiling, you’ll get there. Love, Lyn x

Leave a Reply

