Simple Spaghetti Squash

Growing up, I was a picky eater.  If you know me in real life, this should come as no surprise to you.  So you shouldn’t be shocked when I say that I have never enjoyed any sort of squash.  My dad loves to sauté butternut squash with zucchini and onions, and I always give him a sour face when he fills his plate.

My husband has been begging me for years to make spaghetti squash.  Years.  Every time, I give him the sour face and promise to add it to the menu “next time.”  Right, remember I’ve been promising to add it for years, so I’ve been able to avoid it for a while.

After our trip to Whole Foods this weekend, I came home with a giant spaghetti squash, ready to make it for my husband, and try it myself.  I found a really good recipe and I have to say, I actually enjoyed the meal.  It was really easy to make and pretty tasty.  Chris was actually so excited about it that he got off his bad knee to help me cut it in half and scoop out the seeds.  I was surprised that the squash didn’t have a strong taste and I really liked that it was a little crunch with the spaghetti sauce (we used ground chicken to make it a smidge more healthy).

Have you guys tried spaghetti squash?  If you’re a picky eater, I really encourage you to try this recipe.  It’s yummy, healthy and easy.  Open your mind and you just might find new things to like!

Prepping.

The finished product!

 

2 thoughts on “Simple Spaghetti Squash

  1. That looks delicious! I will try it this week. I love squash so I know I’ll like this. Thanks for sharing! Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

