How Amazon Made Right (Kinda)

Remember when I said my Kindle broke this past weekend?  I got my replacement today!

While we were on our honeymoon in November, my Kindle unexpectedly froze and stopped working.  Luckily, it was still under warranty, so Amazon replaced it with no problem.  I’ve had my replacement for four months, and on Friday night, it did the same thing as it did in November.  Screen froze, books weren’t accessible and it was dunzo.  Sad face.

Image

As an avid reader, I feel like my Kindle is an extension of my right arm, so you can imagine how ticked off I was by this development.  I called them on Saturday expecting for it to be replaced with no problem, just like before (same problem, you’d think same resolution), but no, I hit a massive road block called “OUT OF WARRANTY.”

My frustration of not being able to finish the last book in the Hunger Games series (blasphemy!!!) hit a fever pitch, and after over an hour on the phone and speaking with three different people, I had an option:  Buy a new Kindle for $6 cheaper than offered on the website.  What the what?!

You guys, I caved.  I caved and bought a replacement because I couldn’t imagine not being able to read (seriously, these are the problems I’m dealing with in my life) the Hunter Games my books.  I bought the newish Kindle for $59, they shipped it overnight for free and it arrived today.  I’m not sure how I feel yet about the size difference (slightly afraid I’m going to drop it or my thumbs will accidentally hit the “next page” before I’m ready – I need to slow my roll give it some time before I can make a decision), but we’ll see.

Image

So far, I don’t know what to think.  The new one holds less books (not that I’d ever have 1,500 books on it anyway, but it’s the principal!!), has a smaller screen, shorter battery life (only a month, pshhhhh), and I have that 5-way controller to deal with.  Everything I read just tells me to plug in the Kindle, download via amazon and ignore the controller all together.

I was still totally pissed off that I had to shell out any money kind of blah about all of this until a note I sent to Amazon expressing my displeasure received a response.  They’re giving me $30 off, so I’ve now gotten my new Kindle for $29.  Can I complain at this point?  Not really.  I mean, I still think I shouldn’t have had to pay anything in the first place because the product is clearly defective, but, Amazon did meet me more than halfway, so I should just shut my face and be grateful that they responded at all.   I have a new Kindle, the extension to my right arm has been restored, and all is right in the world.

3 thoughts on “How Amazon Made Right (Kinda)

  1. Do you have a smartphone? you can download the kindle app on droid and iphones for free, and they can sync together. i’ve never had a kindle break, but they do die on me at super inconvenient times, so i always sync them so that i never have to miss out on what i’m reading :)

    • I do have a smart phone but I uninstalled the Kindle app because my phone sucks and has like zippy memory. It’s also tiny and really difficult to read on, but it would be better than nothing in the future! Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

