Crazy Days and FMM

We’re living here in Crazytown, y’all.  No, Raleigh isn’t crazy, it’s just that our lives are completely insane.  We’ve had a crazy few days but I’m really looking forward to things only going up from here.

This weekend, my kindle broke (again, second time since November, don’t even get me started), one of the pave diamonds in my wedding band fell out (don’t worry, our jeweler is going to fix it), and Chris had to have not one, but two root canals today.  Also, we’re anxiously awaiting the report from our appraisal that was done on Saturday.  Please cross your fingers, toes and eyes that we get good news this week.  Once we get the appraisal out of the way, we’re in the homestretch and close in just a few weeks.  Seriously, once we sell the house, I will be so relieved and will celebrate with copious amounts of local Raleigh beer.  No joke.

Anyway, on to Friend Making Monday!

If you’ve taken part in FMM then you know the rules. If you’re new, please take a moment to answer this week’s question on your own blog then add your link in the comments section here at: www.alltheweigh.com so we can all see your FMM questions and answers. Please invite your blog readers to add their links here too so everyone has to opportunity to be seen. The idea is to connect with other awesome bloggers so take a moment to post your own FMM post and comment on a couple of other posts. Now it’s time for this week’s topic!

:: WHEN I WAS A KID ::

1.  My parents told me…that I was smart, capable of anything and silly.

2.  I wanted to grow up to be a…So many things!  A marine biologist, a teacher, a writer, a sports anchor, a sports agent, a nurse…the list could go on for days.

3.  I refused to eat…Brussel Sprouts!  I have horrid memories of our house smelling like steamed brussel sprouts that still make me cringe. 

4.  My favorite thing to do outside was…Riding my bike or roller skating.  When we lived in Indianapolis, I lived on my bicycle and when I wasn’t riding that, I was tearing it up on the streets in my roller skates, happily laughing as my cocker spaniel, Rudy, pulled me down the street.

Best. Bike. Ever. Ignore my shoes.

6.    I broke mynothing!  I’m 32 years old and still haven’t broken a bone (knock on wood)!  If we’re not talking about bones, I broke a lot of nails playing in the dirt.

7.  I liked to wear…Whatever I wanted!  Okay, within reason.  My mom had a dresser for me and she would put solid tops in one drawer, solid bottoms in another (I think there was another drawer with patterned stuff) and let me pick and choose what I wanted to wear.  Apparently it gave me the freedom to feel like a unique kiddo and I was making my own decisions at the ripe age of three.  This didn’t really translate into fashion for me as I grew up, though, I’m totally about comfort over fashion.  Check out my kiddy style:


8.  My parents always…tried to show me the world, teach me right from wrong, made me laugh and loved me without conditions.

9.  I thought that Santa was…real, for about five whole minutes.  When I was five, I broke my moms heart and demanded answers about Santa and since she didn’t want to lie to me, the Santa world was over.

10.  My favorite cartoon was...Little LuLuMOM, I wiki’d it and it says it was popular in the 50’s and was released on VHS in the 80’s!  Were you making me watch cartoons on tape!?  Sigh.  If I wasn’t watching Little Lulu, I loved Scooby Doo, Inspector Gadget and Strawberry Shortcake.

11.  I was the…only.

12.  I got in trouble when…I lied and dug myself into holes (metaphorically). 

13.  My bedroom was…a mess when I was little, and awesome as I grew into my teenage years.  My parents let me draw all over the walls with chalk when I was 14, and when I was 16, I painted my ceiling blue and added some puffy white clouds.  I’m so thankful my parents let me “be cool” with my room and let me do whatever I wanted in my own space. 

14.  My favorite food was…cheese!  Nothing has changed there!

15.  My parents always made me…brush my teeth and say “thank you.”

16.  My first crush was… Joey from New Kids on the Block.

17.  My favorite toy was…Cabbage Patch dolls and Pound Puppies.

18.  I thought school was…Intimidating.  We moved every 2-3 years and I was always the new girl, so school became hard and intimidating and a scary experience.  I had to start over with new friends and pick up in new subjects over and over again and it was haaaaaaaaaard.

19.  My biggest fear was…cracking my head open, birds and not making friends in new schools.

20.  My favorite story was…Anything by Shel Silverstein or Roald Dahl.

21.  My favorite memories…playing in the river in Germany, skiing in Austria, mom/daughter trips, baseball games with my dad, I loved them all!

Now it’s your turn!  Don’t forget to answer the questions on your blog and come back to link up in the comments!  Happy Monday!

2 thoughts on “Crazy Days and FMM

Leave a Reply

