It’s Been Interesting

This week sure has been interesting.  Remember when I blogged about the contract on our house falling through?  That was fun times.  We’re back on the market and an open house is scheduled for next Sunday, so please send us positive thoughts and cross your fingers and toes.  We really need to sell this house.

The day after we found out about the house falling through, I was sitting in my office working after lunch when security called me and told me that someone had hit my car in the parking lot.  First of all, I was incredibly grateful that the person who hit me was honest enough to go to security and report the incident, and second of all, I wasn’t all that worried about it since it happened in the parking lot.  It couldn’t be that bad, right?

Wrong.

My little civic had no chance versus a giant Yukon XL SUV.  Sigh.  It’s been in the shop since Thursday and won’t even be looked at until Mon/Tues.  They have to break everything down and make sure nothing is crazy broken under all of the cosmetic damage, but my assumption is that I won’t have my car back for a few weeks at a minimum.  It definitely needs a new bumper, back quarter panel, the door is screwed up….it’s going to require a lot of attention.

So, I got a rental car.  The only thing available the day I needed it was this:

When they handed me the keys at the rental office I said “You’ve got to be kidding me,” but alas, they were dead serious.  I hated that thing from the moment I sat down.  The windows were tiny, my knee kept hitting the door, the location of the radio/temperature control was super low and was ultra distracting while driving, and it was loud.  Also, it had a cigarette burn and reeked of smoke, so yesterday, after two days with it, I took it back and asked to swap it out for a different car.

Enter the Dodge Avenger:

ZOMG, so much better.  It’s quiet, it’s clean, it’s comfortable, and instead of smelling like smoke, it smells like new car.  Only 1,000 miles on it, so it has my favorite smell which is an added bonus.

The sad thing, is that this is my little civic’s THIRD accident.  The best part is that I’ve never been IN the car for any of those accidents!  The first time it was broken into when I lived in Greenville, the second time my aunt hit it backing out of my parents driveway (I didn’t blog that incident), and now this accident at work.  That’s going to leave a mark on my CarFax report, so it looks like I’ll be sticking with the Civic for quite some time.

So that’s been our week…quite eventful.  I’m still loving my job and I’m facing another Sunday evening where I’m actually looking forward to going to work tomorrow.  :)

Hooray.

Leave a Reply

