Highs and Lows

Today sucked.  It was one of those days that seemingly started off well and then went to shit.

I work for a software company and today was Pi Day (March 14th = 3.14 for all of your non-nerds out there) which was filled with quirky and fun activities.  There’s a giant Pi symbol sculpture in front of the newest building on campus that people were taking pictures with, free pie (seven different options) at lunch, pie eating contests, and people walking around without socks as a nod to Einstein (apparently, that was his “thing”).  Pi Day was fun…but then…

Shortly after lunch, we got an e-mail from our realtor that the contract on our house had fallen through.  Poof, just like that, the contract was over and the buyers were gone.  We pulled the house off the market before a scheduled open house because we had accepted their great offer, and now we have to start all over.  Punch me in the face, this sucks.

I’m not gonna lie – I struggled for the rest of the day.  All of my relief of being under contract was gone and I was a complete stress ball filled with anxiety.  Did I mention it sucked?  So now, we start over and hope for the best.  Sigh.

The day did end on a good note, so at least we’ve got that going for us.  We had dinner at my cousins house and did our NCAA brackets (this year I threw caution to the wind and picked 90% of my teams based on which mascot I liked better).  Also, I still love my job, and I’m grateful to have Chris.  Something about that whole “for better or worse” thing is just super comforting during times of uncertainty.  :)

Oh, and then there’s this….it always cheers me up.

Leave a Reply

