Tis the season,…

Tis the season, y’all!

I spent two hours of my day today racing around the county in the pouring rain on the hunt for perfect Christmas gifts for three children my office “adopted” for the holidays.  Everyone in my department pooled their money together to create a Christmas for the kids and I’d say we were pretty successful.  I was flying solo in the gift buying so that was a challenge (especially since I don’t really know what 11, 12 and 14 year-old kids like), but, when all was said and done, I felt really good about the whole experience. 

Speaking of giving back – “Wreaths Across America” is this Saturday!  It’s the third annual “Brinnington” tradition (Brown/Linnington since my dad, Aunt Brenda and I have done it all three years) and I’m really looking forward to it.  This year, we’ve got a lot more family coming, including my Aunt Brenda’s husbands side of the family, my cousins, and my brother and sister in law.  Even Chris is going to make it this year, so I’m psyched.  In years past, the program has designated specific sections to lay wreaths (last year was section 60), but the goal this year is to lay a wreath on every single grave which is a monumnental task considering there are a staggering 300,000 graves. 

My goal this year is to enjoy the experience with the family, but also to remember those who fought for our country and really appreciate their sacrifice.  I’m not sure how many wreaths I’ll get to lay this year (last year there were so many volunteers that we could only do one wreath, but that was only one section), and I’m undecided if I’ll search for and contact the family of the person whose wreath I lay. 

We are going to specifically seek out Kip Taylor and one of my best friend, Liz’s dads graves to lay wreaths, and we’ll see what else we can do after that.   If I am able to lay a wreath on a strangers grave, I just might have to search them and reach out to their family like I did last year.

I’m sure I’ll have an entire recap after this weekend – in the meantime, check out our pictures from the past two years!

4 thoughts on “Tis the season,…

  1. Natalie, I can’t begin to tell you how touched I am that you are going to lay a wreath on my father’s grave this year. Please send me a picture, and thank you so much. I love you!!

  2. Pingback: Wreaths, Holiday Festival and a National Christmas Tree |

Leave a Reply

