Newlywed Ornaments!

I recently read on a blog that I follow regularly that there is a lovely German custom for newlyweds involving Christmas ornaments.  Can I tell you how much I am loving this idea and want to jump on it asap?!

According to the old Germany tradition, the tree of a newlywed couple should include these twelve ornaments to insure blessing and happienss for their life together. 

1.  An Angel – Guidance in the Home

2.  A Rose – Beauty and Affection

 

3.  A Rabbit – Hope and Faith

4.  A Teapot – Hospitality

5.  A Pinecone – Motherhood and Fruitfulness

6.  A Santa – Unselfishness and Goodwill

7.  A House – Shelter and Protection

8.  A Fruit Basket – Generosity

9.  A Bird – Happiness and Joy

10.  A Flower Basket – Good Wishes

 

13.  A Heart – True Love

12.  A Fish – Christs Blessing


2 thoughts on “Newlywed Ornaments!

  1. that’s so funny! I was reading this post and then looking at the ornaments on my tree that we got as a gift for our wedding. Its ALLLL of these ornaments that came in a box for us. HA! I never knew! I guess I should embrace my German heritage more. Stupid me! Thanks though for helping me figure that out!

Leave a Reply

