Wedding Week – Thank You Liz!

Dear Liz,

I know, I know, you would prefer to be called Elizabeth, but you’ll always  be Liz to me.  Sorry, such is life, friend.  :-)

We met our freshman year of high school in Colorado Springs and had a bit of a rocky start.  For whatever reason (oh, maybe it’s called being 14 years old,) we really thought we disliked each other.  What the what?  I’m forever grateful that you wrote me a note asking if I indeed disliked you so that I had the chance to clarify that I didn’t know you and therefor had no reason to NOT like you.  Gawd, so much drama.

Liz, you have been my oldest friend that I’ve ever had (not age, but length of friendship, duh) and I cherish our friendship.  We’ve run the gamut of life over the past 17 years but I wouldn’t change anything.

We’ve skiied in Colorado, swam in the oceans of South Carolina, toured DC, frolicked around Charleston in a BMW, laughed, cried, fought and made up.  I look back at life and have a hard time remembering a time without you, and it makes me smile.

You have been there for me through nearly every monumental moment in my life and I am grateful.  You’re always just a phone call away, you’re insightful, you’re honest, you’re kind, and you’re one of the best friends I’ve ever had.  We’ve grown up so much since we were 14 (thank god), but I’m glad that through everything, we’ve always been able to come back together and maintain our friendship.

I can’t wait to see you this weekend with your beautiful new baby and husband!  It means so much to me that you’ll be right up there with me on the biggest day of my life!

I love you always.

2 thoughts on “Wedding Week – Thank You Liz!

  1. …and I’m tearing up. I love you so much! 48 hours until I see you and meet your fiance and start this wedding weekend! Thank you for the kind words, friend. I couldn’t imagine life without your insight, friendship and amazing taste in sunglasses. :) logginballs, baby!

Leave a Reply

