Next Stop: Wedding!

This weekend Chris and I had our bachelorette/bachelor parties, and my bridal shower.  It was an incredible weekend and one that I will never forget.

Friday, I had a few out of town guests arrive (someone arrived at 3am Friday morning thanks to a 2-hour flight delay, so that was neat) and we spent the afternoon shopping, catching up and hanging out.  That evening, my bridesmaids went over to my aunts house to start setting up for the shower, and my friend Lindsey and I had some dinner followed by Pinkberry for desset, but not before we all attacked Charming Charlies.  After dinner and dessert, Lindsey and I hung out at the house til the girls got back and then we just stayed up talking and giggling until it was lights out.

Saturday it was bridal shower day!  I was a little nervous to be in the spotlight, but once I got there, I gave out lots of hugs and just enjoyed the day.  The details that my bridesmaids, aunt and mom put into the shower were incredible and so far above and beyond what I could have ever imagined.  They completely transformed my aunts house into a tea party and it was beeeeeeautiful down to the last detail!

Cute custom cookies!

Personalized dishes with treats all around!

Cherry blossom teacup for me!

Yummy cupcakes!

Waiting to get my "tea" on!

Me and the ladies! (Minus one, we missed you Liz!)

I had such a wonderful time and am so grateful for everything that everyone did!

After the shower, we went into bachelorette/sleepover mode.  Our first stop was manicures and pedicures which of course was a great time.

Hooray pedicures!

Once the pampering was done, we picked up some pizza and brought it back to the house, changed into our comfy clothes and just relaxed for the night.  The girls were super sweet and got me a bachelorette bag of goodies (yummy body wash, body scrub and bubble bath, plus a gift card and a few other sweet things) that I can’t wait to dive into.

This morning, we were up bright and early to get ready for Drag Queen Brunch.  I knew I didn’t want a “traditional” bachelorette party of going to a bar, doing shots and dancing on tables, so I thought drag queen brunch would be a great option.  It’s just much more “me.”  So, we trekked downtown and got our butts in line at 9am (they don’t take reservations and the line starts a good hour before the first seating).  Lucky for us it was butt cold and drizly, but we were all troopers and made it through the freeeeeezing cold to finally go inside and be entertained.

I loved, loved, loved the brunch.  Our server bought us a pitcher of mimosas since it was my “bachelorette party,”, the food was delicious and the “girls” were super entertaining.  They did a great job and the MC was hysterical.  If you’re ever in DC and want something fun to do on a Sunday morning, I’d definitely recommend the brunch.

Waiting in the cold rain! Troopers!

Brunch!

 

"Tommy Ross"

Shannon, Jamie and Amanda.

Kirsten and Me.

Over heeeeeeeeeere!!!

Obligitory picture with the drag queen.

Post-brunch group shot!

I’m so lucky to have such amazing friends and family to have spent the weekend with.  I felt so much love and am so happy to have spent 3 days with some of my favorite people on earth before the wedding craziness really kicks into high gear.

26 days til the wedding.  The countdown is now down to days.  Days, people, days!!

I love you guys – thanks for the best weekend ever!

2 thoughts on “Next Stop: Wedding!

  1. Amazing!!! I’m so glad you all had such a fantastic weekend, and that your bridal shower was such a success! I love you so much, and thought about you all weekend. We definitely need to chat tonight so that I can hear more about everything. I can’t wait to see you in less than 4 weeks. It’s going to be amazing! :)

Leave a Reply

