Book Selection: A Stolen Life

I don’t like it when I pick up a book and find it so scary that it can’t possibly be true.  Last night, I started reading “A Stolen Life, by Jaycee Dugard and I immediately felt as though the Boogeyman really does exist.  I’ve read all kinds of memoirs including Helter Skelter (the Charles Manson stories,though it took me about 3 times to read it, including one  instance of throwing the book across the room in a fit of fear, but I got through it) and I’ve made it through them all.  What’s so horrifying about this book is that it’s the story of a child who endures the unbelievable, and I’m only on chapter two and completely freaked out.

Around midnight last night, we were dead asleep when Hunter began barking wildly.  It’s not really like him to bark furiously in the middle of the night, so Chris flew out of bed to investigate a potential noise.  I immediately awoke to the thought of the Boogeyman trying to get into the house and get us.  When Chris made sure everything was clear, he got back in bed and I plastered myself to him hoping my brain would slow down and the fear would disappear.  It took an hour, but eventually, I settled back into a calm sleep.  It’s amazing how our brains work I tell you.

I’m still intrigued by this book and I’m going to finish it, mostly because I know the outcome.  A young girl survives the unimaginable and comes out of it filled with love and hope and that gives me some peace of mind.  Also, I feel like I’m going to learn something from this book:  That no matter what life throws at you, you can survive.

3 thoughts on “Book Selection: A Stolen Life

  1. I actually read this book about a month ago… So sad, but her perseverance is unbelievable. Great book, but definitely will take a toll on your emotions.

  2. Hi. I just finished the book too. I was 65th in line for it from the library and I finally got it. I thought for sure I’d need more than two weeks (the library limit) to read it but because it’s in such high demand, I wouldn’t be able to renew it. I read it in 2 days! OMG I couldn’t put it down. Now, yesterday I went to the park to shoot some baskets. The park was pretty empty since all the kids were in school. The basketball court is near the road. I saw this black car go by twice and right away my mind started envisioning myself getting stunned and dragged into the car. Really kind of freaked me out. I kept an eye out for sure. Jaycee is a very brave woman and I look up to her. :)

Leave a Reply

