What a Fun Little Game

My fellow blogger, Carrie,posted this little game for a fun start to this Friday morning.  I thought I’d share since it’s interesting to see how life happens!
 
Here you go!

Where I thought I’d be when I was 12:   We moved around all of the time being in the Army, so I always expected to roll into a new school, make new friends, find a boyfriend to hold hands with and generally rock it.

Actuality:  New girl, new country (Germany), no boyfriend, still rocked it.
 
Where I thought I’d be when I was 16:  I thought I’d be at the same school that I started my freshman  year, that I’d be the model student, find my high school sweetheart, participate in activities and get decent grades all while balancing a fun life.
 
Actuality:  I was on my third high school in three years, I played tennis, was on a lot of school committees (looking back I want to barf!), I was grounded a lot for less than stellar grades,   and I definitely didn’t even care think about college.
 
Where I thought I’d be when I was 21:  I thought I’d be on the verge of graduating from college, that I’d be prepping to land the job of my dreams making hundreds of thousands of dollars a year, and that I’d be engaged.
 
Actuality:   Lost!  Completely lost!  I was in a horrible relationship, lived in yet another new place (Austin, TX), was in and out of community college and hated life.
 
Where I thought I’d be when I was 25:  Definitely thought I’d be married, a college graduate, and have a kid on the way.  I thought I’d be a few years into a career where I’d move up the ladder quickly and raking in the money.
 
Actuality:   I was bartending in Fairfax, VA, I worked when I felt like it, I traveled, I partied, I kind of went to school, and I LOVED my life.
 
Where I thought I’d be when I was 27:  Thought I’d have 2.5 kids, own a home, live the “American Dream” in the suburbs somewhere and settle into lemming life.
 
Actuality:   I quit my job to go to school full time.  No kids, not even a boyfriend in sight – at that point, it was all about me and getting my shit together.
 
Where I thought Id be when I was 31:  Settled into a routine life filled with t-ball and soccer, making cupcakes for school functions, packing lunches with love notes and making annual trips to Disney.  Oh, and celebrating some kind of wedding anniversary.
 
Actuality:   Homeowner, engaged on the verge of getting married!
 
Where I think I’ll be when I’m 35:  At least one kid (maybe even two, we better get moving!) and hopefully moved into a nice single family home in our little Leesburg.  Career wise, I’d like to be at the same company and moving up within Human Resources (clearly I’m over making hundreds of thousands of dollars, haha)!
 
Actuality: I can’t predict the future.
 
Where I think I’ll be when I’m 40:   Happy, fulfilled, a mother, a wife, and still awesome.

As Carrie says,  send me your link to your blog and I’ll post them so others can follow and fun with it too!

One thought on “What a Fun Little Game

Leave a Reply

