I Didn’t Sign Up for Yoga

I went to my first group fitness class in probably ten years tonight and it was…interesting.  Chris came with me, too, so that made it all the more entertaining.

Honestly, when we got to the gym, I was a little nervous because I had no idea what to expect.  Would the people be crazy about their workouts and leave me in the dust?  Would I be coordinated enough to do the exercises?  Would I completely embarass myself?

Ten minutes later, my thoughts were silly.  When it was time for the class to begin, there where a whopping three of us in the room.  Popular class, eh?  (It’s new, I don’t think a lot of people know about it yet – strength training if you care).

The instructor turned out to be a sub for the normal girl, and she normally teaches yoga and pilates.  So, guess what she made us do.  Lots of yoga focusing/breathing in addition to the weights/bars/torture.

First of all, if I wanted to take a yoga class, I would have registered for a yoga class.  Second of all, never ask your attendees their names because if they’re Chris, they’ll introduce theselves as “Ralph” and make you laugh the entire class because the instructor calls him Ralph.  Third of all, know how to work the stereo system – working out with no music is no bueno.

There were a few positives to tonights class, but I am glad the instructor isn’t the permanent one.  We did a lot of weights and stretching and using this body bar thing and other things I can’t articulately describe, so overall, it was good.  It just wasn’t as intense as I expected/wanted it to be.  The biggest challenge to me were the lunges and of course focusing on her crazy breathing exercises while trying to manipulate the equipment correctly.

 Chris Ralph didn’t enjoy himself at all, but he made the best of it, cracking jokes whenever he could throughout the class.  Poor guy wants nothing to do with yoga and he’s standing there on one leg holding 16 pound weights focusing on his breathing.  The shit he does for me, I tell ya.

I talked to the only other person who attended tonights class and she said the Monday evening class is awesome with a great instructor.  I’m planning on going to that and am looking forward to it.  I’m also hoping the gym changes up the workout calendar for August because a lot of the classes I want to go to are in the middle of the day.  Evening classes are limited, so that’s a mega bummer.

I’m going to be sore tomorrow.  Good sign.

One thought on “I Didn’t Sign Up for Yoga

Leave a Reply

