Planning Begins!

I love being engaged.  Love, love, love it.  I love that we get to share our story, I love the excitement, and I love the love.  However, this whole planning a wedding thing is not what I thought it would be.

I’m a planner.  I like to plan things and see them come to life.  I like research and spreadsheets and the scavenger hunt, but this wedding stuff is hard.  First of all, shit is expensive.  I’m not going to lie.  I had no scope of cost in regards to anything, so I’ve been experiencing extreme sticker shock as we’ve received quotes on almost everything  $500 for a cake?  It’s just flour, butter, sugar and eggs!  $150 for a bridal bouquet??  Seriously?

I thought when we got engaged I would know everything I wanted and that everything would magically come together.  Wrong.  I have ideas, but all of the options are overwhelming.  It’s wedding world and we’re just living in it.  We have so much to think about:  Welcome bags, party favors, centerpieces, bouquets, colors, etc…So. Many. Choices.

While a lot is overwhelming, we at least have one big ticket item on our list checked off!  I got my dress!  I got my dress, I got my dress, I got my dress!!  I love it and I can’t wait to wear it for more than 10 minutes!

We’re also working on the venue and will hopefully make a decision by tomorrow.  I think once that is finalized, all of the little things I listed above will slowly start to fall into place.  We have a photographer and DJ in mind, too, so that’s also progress.  I’ll just go back to it:  the little things are overwhelming.  I love minor details because I think that they can really “make” an event.  I’m just scared we’re not going to do it right and it will not be what we envisioned.  Thank god for Chris’ sister – she has been like an encyclopedia of wedding information.  I ask one question and get 20 different and applicable answers as well as a trillion links to exactly what she’s thinking, except in pictures.  It’s seriously incredible and I’m so grateful because she is creative and fun and gives me so much inspiration.

Our engagement party is this weekend and I’m super psyched.  My maid of honor, Jamie is coming into town from Texas, and Chris’ Best Man is coming down from Maryland.  We’re so excited to be with our good friends and of course our families.  Hopefully we’ll have a date and venue by the party so that we can officially announce it.

While Jamie is here, we’re going to go bridesmaid dress shopping with two of my other bridesmaids, Lindsay and Kirsten.  Hopefully we’ll find the right dress and color this weekend so we can cross something else off the list.

Fun times, friends.  Now it’s time for some light reading to get wedding off the brain.  Nighty, night!

Leave a Reply

