Change of Command

What an awesome week.  We started it off with an amazing Memorial Day, I finished out my last three days at Hilton, and today, we attended my uncles Change of Command at Ft. Myer in Arlington.

Growing up military, I’ve attended a few Change of Commands, but nothing on the scale of today.  I wish that I could articulate it like I felt it, but that’s just impossible.  As Chris put it, “I get mad cised for the tradition, pomp and circumstance.”

We got to Arlington about 30 minutes prior to the ceremony and I was excited immediately.  The Old Guard was already lined up and prepping nearby, and just being near them was exciting.  The precision and technique that these soldiers display is nothing short of incredible.  The smallest details are accounted for and every move they make is calculated and beautiful.  If you’re not familiar with the history of the Old Guard, you should learn about it because it’s fascinating.

The Old Guard before the ceremony.

We took our seats about 15 minutes before the ceremony was set to begin, and we couldn’t have asked for a more beautiful day.  The skies were blue, the humidity was gone, and it was a perfect 78 degrees.  At 10am on the dot, the Change of Command was underway.

Formation.

Walking to review the soldiers.

Reviewing.

Uncle Mike officially taking command. The transfer of the flag represents the transfer of command.

I just loved everything about the entire morning.  I love how coordinated every little thing is and how everyone does the same thing at the same time, flawlessly.  I love the movement of the swords and the clicking of the heels.  The snaps to attention and the rigid focus.  It’s so very cool to me and I wish sometimes that I could watch it in slow motion so that I don’t miss anything.  Call me silly, I just think it’s super awesome.

Congratulations to my Uncle Mike – job well done!  I can’t wait to see what kind of adventures he has while in command for the next two years!

This afternoon, I planned on taking a N-A-P, but the air conditioning guy was at our house waiting when we got home.  Hooray for A/C!  He was here for nearly three hours, but it’s working!  It turns out, our motor was shot (no wonder it smelled like something was burning), the previous renters/owners never cleaned out the filters, so they clogged the intake with dust and grossness, and it was low on coolant.  Thank goodness for our home warranty!  This past week our bedroom has literally been 20 degrees warmer than the rest of the house and last night, the air stopped working completely.  Now that it’s been fixed, the air is blasting throughout the house, and the upstairs is the perfect temp.  I’m so happy and relieved.
Happy weekend!

One thought on “Change of Command

  1. Pingback: Memorial Day Recap | All in Good Time

Leave a Reply

