Plumbing, Purchases and Pain

It’s interesting how being a home owner becomes a second full time job so quickly after the papers have all been signed.  I feel like we have so much work to do in our house, but Chris is good about keeping reality in perspective.  We have a lot to do, but we have a lot of time to do it, too.

We decided to give ourselves some time to enjoy the house once the kitchen floors were finished, and we have definitely been enjoying a clean house with limited work, but then on Saturday, our kitchen sink decided to throw a temper tantrum and refused to drain.

Chris did everything under the sun to try to fix the problem.  He dismantled the pipes, removed the garbage disposal, bought a snake and ran it 25 feet down into the pipes, and even after all of that, the sink still refused to drain.  We gave in and called a plumber who was luckily able to fix it quickly.  He had a 45 foot snake and once he found the clog, he attached it to this machine that spun it around to break up whatever was blocking the pipe.  Ahhhh, the things you learn in home ownership.  Money down the drain (literally), but the problem has been resolved.  Thank god.

Plumber Carl, doing his thing.

Saturday held a special surprise for me because I had the pleasure of doing something to my back which made me wince in pain if I sat down or got up.  It was bearable and and a mild annoyance (no idea what triggered it), so the productive day I had planned resulted in a minor bust.  I got a lot of what I wanted to get done finished while Chris was at the Caps game, but there is still a lot of junk left on my “to do” list for this week.  I need a maid.

Yesterday, we made two big home purchases we were really looking forward to:  A lawnmower, and a grill.  You know you’re getting old when you get excited about those things.  I also surprised Chris with a little Easter basket of candy and other small things he needed.

About midway through Sunday, my back really started to hurt, and not just when I got up or sat down.  It started to throb no matter what I was doing, but I popped a bunch of advil and just pushed through.  We ended the day by having dinner with Chris’ parents at Don Pablos (yes, chips and salsa on Easter!!), and it was great.

Today, I woke up, and I literally felt like my lower back was a rubber band stretched out to it’s full capacity, ready to snap at any second.  It took all of my being to roll over in bed, and in order to get out of the bed, I had to actually roll off the bed onto my knees, and then get up from a squat.  I was completely horrified and worried that I’d be like who one of those old people in commercials yelling that they had fallen and couldn’t get up.  I could not bend one bit, and if I accidentally moved the wrong way, my muscles screamed at me, forcing a yelp from my mouth.  I’m used to getting colds or headaches, not having random physical pain from nothing, so it was really frustrating and I don’t do well with it.  I was able to get an appointment with my doctor this afternoon, so I rode the couch on the heating pad until I saw the doc.

Turns out, it’s a strain.  I could have diagnosed that.  Unfortunately there isn’t much they could do except give me a shot of Toradol (super high speed Aleve – it works faster as a shot), and send me home with super high speed Aleve in pill form.  The only other thing I can do is lay on the heating pad and stretch as much as my back will allow.  Oh, and they gave me a stupid tetanus shot, (I guess it was just time) so now my arm hurts, too.

The shot definitely helped, and I was able to get off the couch without grunting or hollering around 5pm, so that was a good sign.  Chris decided to put the grill together, (another thing I didn’t think of !  Who knew you had to assemble your own grill!!) so I helped him sort out the screws and bolts as he navigated the instructions.  I did attempt to help since I was feeling better, but after about 10 minutes of sitting on the floor, the throbbing took over, and the tears came, so I got right back on the couch.   I wish I could have been more helpful, but obviously I was limited in my abilities.

Chris assembling the grill while Hunter provides support.

Happy guy with his new grill.

I’m desperately hoping that my back feels better tomorrow.  This hobbling around like a 90-year old woman is not fun or attractive.

Oh, and PS:  Is the wedding in the UK over, yet?  I am so sick of hearing about it.

4 thoughts on “Plumbing, Purchases and Pain

  1. Sorry your back is being ugly… eeeeesh, no bueno.

    PS “Life is quick – Accept the good, ya’ll.”—-> Y’ALL… just sayin, again.

  2. So sorry you’re hurting! Home-ownership can be more than a pain in the butt, and what’s with the Chris ‘stache?

  3. Back pain is a serious matter, and I’m so sorry you’re hurting. Hang in there though, and don’t do more than you really can do. And I agree with the whole royal wedding…boring. I don’t care who designed her stupid dress!

Leave a Reply

