Personal Best

I feel like being healthy is sometimes a part-time job.  My brain is constantly thinking about the decisions I need to make in order to be healthy these days.  It used to be easy to just come home and throw a frozen lasagna in the oven and not give it a second thought, but now, I’m grossed out by that concept.  I find myself thinking of what I can eat with lots of protein to satisfy me.  I want to know exactly what a “superfood” is.  And finding recipes online is like the worlds biggest and most delicious scavenger hunt.

I’ve talked to a few of my girlfriends about this new healthy path, and I’ve found relief in hearing their stories about how it’s work for them as well.  It’s nice to hear other people say, “I work really hard to be in shape.”  Makes me realize I’m not the only one who actually has to try, and that’s honestly refreshing.

I also think it’s tremendously helpful to see my other friends who are losing weight, working out and making great lifestyle changes.  Having friends to bounce ideas off of and see success unfold with is really rewarding.  Having a partner to eat well and work out with is a big motivating factor, too.  I’m super lucky to have Chris who is willing to try everything I’m cooking (and often times help), and who challenges me to go to the gym when I’m sometimes blah about it.  Support definitely helps.

I was super excited to cook dinner tonight, and it didn’t disappoint.  Chris really liked it too, so that was an added bonus.

Cilantro-Lime Chicken with Avocado Salsa & Spanish Rice.

I love cilantro, I love lime, I love tomatoes and I love avocado, so what wasn’t to love about this recipe!  It was actually really easy to make (next time I’ll use fresh salsa instead of making my own — it just took too long) and it was super tasty.  I love finding flavorful foods that are still moderately healthy – that’s my new favorite thing!

After dinner, we made our way to the gym where I had my best workout yet.  3.5 miles on the elliptical in 45 minutes.  It may not sound that fantastic, but it’s the best I’ve done since we started working out again.  That’s just over a 12 minute mile, which for me is a great feeling.  Two weeks ago my pace was more than 14 minutes per mile, so to see it drop already is just awesome.

Recipe for the Cilantro-Lime Chicken!

Ingredients

  • Chicken:
  • 2  tablespoons  minced fresh cilantro
  • 2 1/2  tablespoons  fresh lime juice
  • 1 1/2  tablespoons  olive oil
  • 4  (6-ounce) skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
  • 1/4  teaspoon  salt
  • Cooking spray
  • Salsa:
  • 1  cup  chopped plum tomato (about 2)
  • 2  tablespoons  finely chopped onion
  • 2  teaspoons  fresh lime juice
  • 1/4  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/8  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • 1  avocado, peeled and finely chopped

Preparation

1. To prepare chicken, combine first 4 ingredients in a large bowl; toss and let stand 3 minutes. Remove chicken from marinade; discard marinade. Sprinkle chicken evenly with 1/4 teaspoon salt. Heat a grill pan over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add chicken to pan; cook 6 minutes on each side or until done.

2. To prepare salsa, combine tomato and next 4 ingredients (through pepper) in a medium bowl. Add avocado; stir gently to combine. Serve salsa over chicken.

Nutritional Information

Calories: 289
Fat: 13.2g (sat 2.4g,mono 7.5g,poly 1.9g)
Protein: 35.6g
Carbohydrate: 6.6g
Fiber: 3.6g
Cholesterol: 94mg
Iron: 1.6mg
Sodium: 383mg
Calcium: 29mg
3 thoughts on “Personal Best

  1. WONDERFUL JOB NAT!!!

    I have to tell you I’m so proud of you! I’ve started the same journey and have realized that I need to add working out and eating healthy to my lifestyle. Its just as important as sleeping and I’ll go as far as to say breathing :o). I realized that the more I exercise the more I’m allowed to eat. And I realize how long I have to exercise to ‘earn’ things like cupcakes.
    Since the beginning of Feb I have lost 10 lbs. No joke.
    My friend at work Fatou, she also has lost 10 lbs. She isn’t following the WW closely but mainly just watching what she eats and adding more fruit to her diet. She wasn’t even working out really. She just started working out and I can’t wait to see the results she gets!!! So exciting!!! I’m excited to hear about your Journey and THANK YOU for the recipe!
    Justin makes Salsa ALL THE TIME and its super easy. I will get his recipe and email it to you. Also he makes Salsa Verde and is also delicious! :D

  2. Uh staying in shape and eating healthy is a pain in the butt. I may be naturally little, but it still takes work to stay this way. ANNOYING. Kudos to you and Chris for doing it right!

Leave a Reply

