A Change for the Better

We joined a gym.  Yay!  One of the perks of living in the city of Leesburg proper is that you have access to the city run facility, Ida Lee Recreational Center.  The rec center is seriously huge and is like any other gym you’d find in the area, but I’d compare it to a Lifetime Fitness more than anything.  It’s filled with tons of cardio equipment, weights, an indoor and outdoor pool, basketball courts, racquetball courts, tennis courts, you name it.  The best part though, is that it’s a fraction the cost of a “normal” gym membership and costs us only $56 dollars a month total.  Can’t beat that!

I’m finding myself challenging myself, but being realistic at the same time.  It took a while to gain weight, so it will take a while to take it off.  I’m pretty encouraged to see I’ve already lost 4lbs (likely water weight), but I don’t expect that rapid loss to continue.  My short-term goal is to lose 15lbs by Memorial Day.  I’m thinking that’s a reachable goal, but between having to have my gallbladder removed in May, and a trip to NC in April with southern cooking, we’ll have to see how it goes.  I’m fairly confident I can do it.

We’re cooking more, using our weight watchers cookbooks and cooking recipes shared from friends.  We’re not doing the weight watchers program, but their cookbooks are awesome!  It’s amazing how much people will help if you just ask!  I’ve found myself talking to my friends who work out and are aware of what they eat and they’re just filled with knowledge, tips and encouragement.  I think in the past I’ve tried to do everything on my own and opening myself up to asking for help and getting encouragement is going to make a difference.  Also, I’m just really motivated to be more healthy.

I plan on blogging about this whole journey, sharing websites, asking for recipes and maybe even venting frustrations on bad days, but either way, I feel better already.

2 thoughts on “A Change for the Better

  1. I second that Get it girl!!! :o) I’ve started running (on a treadmill) and I’ve notice more results with running than I have with anything I’ve ever done. Pair that with eating healthy (I joined WW for the second time) and I realize when I work out, I can eat foods, like cupcakes and chips and beer) every now and then and its OK. I know that sounds like such a simple realization but it wasn’t for me. Everything in moderation all the sudden makes sense to me. Moderation as long as I am including exercise in my life. So I let myself cheat on the weekends and then M-F(afternoon) I eat pretty darn healthy. Lots of fruits and veggies. Its easier to eat healthy (for me) M-F because I’m not in a snacky mood like I would be if I was sitting at home in front of the TV. Then I go to the gym every weekend and maybe one or two week nights. I feel SO MUCH BETTER. Plus I drink water like is going out of style.
    My snack referral for you… if you aren’t already enjoying it… the 100 cal bags of popcorn, lil can’t believe its not butter spray and some accent seasoning…bam delicious snack that is pretty filling. Oh and I also changed how I eat… example If we are eating some meat for dinner I will eat the veggies first then when I eat the meat I don’t OVER eat my portion. It has helped a lot. SENDING YOU LOTS OF POSITIVE VIBES!!

Leave a Reply

