It’s Ours!

It’s over.  Submitting paperwork, going through our life history, spending hours on the phone….it’s all over.  WE ARE OFFICIALLY HOMEOWNERS!

Honestly, yesterday was one of the single most stressful days of my life, and I’m so glad it’s over.

We had a last-minute issue come up at about 10am yesterday, just 6 hours prior to closing which led me to an empty office on the phone for over an hour, trying to get things figured out.  It’s so upsetting to think that you’re all ready to close and then have a last-minute issue come up that you suddenly have to resolve.  My mood went from being overjoyed and excited when I woke up, to be being weepy and frustrated when things went downhill with that issue.

By noon we had resolved the issue, but we were told that the amount of money that we’d be getting back at closing was significantly less than what we were originally.  Again, frustrating.  I was starting to feel left out of decisions and as a first time buyer, I just didn’t understand what was going on.  We were told they were “working on the numbers” and going into the closing, we had no idea how much we’d get back or if the problem had been resolved.  Apparently I had “frustrated/agitated/anxious” written all over my face when we walked in because our realtor definitely sensed I wasn’t happy.  I told her I was just confused and had no idea what was going on, and she said that it had been resolved and we would be getting the anticipated money back after all.

Relieved.

Once that was figured out, the reality of what we were doing kicked in.  We were buying a house.  Crazy, right?  People do it every day, I just never thought I’d be in this position until I was like 40 years old.  We signed our lives away on at least 50 documents and by the end, my name resembled one messy scribble.  Our realtor was even thoughtful enough to document things as they unfolded.

Reviewing the note.

Normal interactions.

Signing the last official document!

Hooray!  It’s all over, and the house is officially ours.  It’s definitely a bit surreal, but it’s so great.

After we finished signing and closing, we had a celebratory dinner with our parents at Jacksons in Reston, and then headed home to Leesburg.

Our friends, Kirsten and Tanner met us at the house shortly after we got home, and I thought Chris would die when Tanner handed him a game played stick from former Capitals player, Donald Brashear as a housewarming gift.  Occasionally while watching games, Chris will randomly blurt out “I miss Brashear,” so he was definitely one of his favorites, and Tanner totally made his night.  Another piece of Capitals memorabilia to add to the “man cave.”

Game played stick, with puck marks and everything.

Kirsten was also really sweet and gave us a bottle of my favorite wine, and a beautiful card.  I’m so happy that we’re closer to them and can hang out on weekends and stuff now.

After we gave a brief tour of the house, we headed over to Fireworks pizza for beer and cookie pizzas and laughed it up for a few hours before falling into bed somewhere around midnight.  It was a great way to end the day.

I woke up this morning feeling like the weight of the world has been lifted off my shoulders.  It’s ours.

On a random note, while running errands this morning, I stumbled across this hilarious piggy bank that is perfect for saving loose change and putting it towards date night.  It goes with NOTHING in the house decor wise, but I had to have it.  He’s now sitting in my kitchen, begging to be paid.

Oink.

Life is good.

4 thoughts on “It’s Ours!

  1. Pingback: 2011: Best. Year. Ever. |

  2. Pingback: Future Home Wish List | All in Good Time

Leave a Reply

