Change of Scenery

Dear Reston,

I really don’t miss you as much as I thought I would.  With your pretty Reston Town Center and convenience to the toll road, I genuinely thought I would be sad to leave you.  However, I like my new home, and with that, I like my new town.

I like the convenience of shopping being very close by.  Everything is new and shiny, clean and welcoming.  Our neighbors welcomed us with cupcakes, and people hold doors open for you.

I hate Costco, and I even like the Costco out here.  It’s never overwhelmingly busy, it’s in a great location and I’ve been in it long enough to realize that they sell more than 4 gallon packages of pickles.

I’m still going to have to work on my commute and finding some alternate routes to lessen the time I sit in traffic on the way home, but it’s still worth it.

I drive by you everyday, Reston, but I don’t miss you.  I’ve got a new home now.

PS:  Quote of the Day:

The scene:  Natalie, hair up, getting a drink from the fridge, Chris tooling around the kitchen.

Chris:  I just want to go on record and say that I really hate that tattoo on the back of your neck.

Natalie:  Yeah, me too.

….ahhhh, the things we do when we’re 23.

Leave a Reply

