Wreaths 2.0

Last year, my aunt invited us to participate in a new family tradition:  laying wreaths at Arlington National Cemetery for the holidays.  I felt like laying wreaths would be a wonderful way to honor our service men and women and a good family thing, and I’m excited to do it again this coming weekend.

Every year through an organization called Wreaths Across America, 24,000 wreaths are handmade in Maine and travel 750 miles to Arlington to be placed on graves.  The 24,000 wreaths don’t cover every grave, so certain sections are selected each year for wreaths to be distributed.  This year is special because section 60 will be included and if you’re not familiar, section 60 is where the 9/11 victims from the Pentagon are located.  For some reason, I’ve been thinking a lot about our old friend Kip Taylor who was lost on that day, and I can’t wait to put a wreath on his grave.  Although section 60 is special in my eyes, there are other sections that are included which are equally as important – it should just be moving to place a wreath on the headstone of someone we actually knew.

Volunteers getting their wreaths.

My dad, handing out wreaths.

Soldiers coming to help.

The finished product.

I’m just really looking forward to Saturday, getting up early and hanging with me family and honoring our heroes.  It really is an honor and I’m so grateful that I get to experience such a powerful tradition.

Happy holidays!

3 thoughts on “Wreaths 2.0

  1. Natalie. You are AMAZING. I love you. You are such a good person. :o) I wish I could come home and join you in this wonderful tradition.

  2. Such a lovely thing you are doing…wish I could join you one year…. My great Uncle Howell & Great Aunt Mary are both buried there. My wedding band was my Aunt Mary’s that was passed down to me on my 25th birthday… she was my Grandfather’s (Fred & Betsy) sister.

  3. Pingback: Tis the season,… |

Leave a Reply

