Weekend O’ Fun

This past weekend was was filled with love, fun and friends.  What more could you ask for?

Saturday, Chris worked in the morning which gave me time to clean up the house, do a little laundry and get gifts ready for the festivities of the day.  I had Amanda’s baby shower that afternoon, and Shannon’s 30th birthday dinner that night, so there was lots to do.

I was super excited for Amanda’s baby shower for numerous reasons, but mostly because a) She’s pregnant after a long and difficult journey, and b) I got to see my friends who all live out of state!!!  Her sister and  family did a really great job hosting, the food & homemade cupcakes were delicious and Amanda got some great gifts!  It was just good to be around my girls who I rarely get to see and also to celebrate Maddox’s arrival in a few months!

Ashley & Amanda - BFF's

Delicious cupcakes made my Amanda's sister, Sabrina.

Shannon really loved the punch....

Gifts!!

Opening gifts.

Amanda & me

Shannon and me

Sisters Vaughan.

After the baby shower, I went home for a few hours to get ready and pick up Chris to head out to Shannon’s birthday celebration.  We went to dinner at a Thai restaurant called Faang in Leesburg and it was really good.  I had the Pad Thai and Chris had the Pineapple fried rice.  If we’re ever back in that area again, I’d definitely go back.

After dinner, we walked over the King Pinz bowling alley where they had the cosmic style bowling with giant TV’s and loud music.  It was super nice and I already want to go back.   It was great to reunite with people I haven’t seen in forever, drink some Blue Moons and celebrate Shannon’s birthday.

Dinner scene.

Chris and me at dinner.

Shannon and her birthday dessert.

Shannon opening gifts.

Scott and Ashley

Ash & me.

Justin & Shannon

Goofing off.

Sunday, Chris and I celebrated our one-year anniversary by basically reliving our first date.   The Capitals were playing the Flyers (a fun and hateful rivalry) and the Caps won in overtime which was great to see.  We did a pretty low-key celebration since we’ve been doing so much lately, but it was perfect and I’m so thankful to have reached the one-year milestone.

At the various parties on Saturday, so many friends I haven’t seen in a long time told me they keep up with me/us on facebook on my blog, and I received so many “I’m so happy for you” comments it made my heart smile.  It’s just nice to know people are happy for us being happy.  Happiness all around.

Warm Ups on the goalie, Holtby.

Brooks Laich

Ovie!

Section 408, Row H, Seats 1 & 2 - Scene of the first date!

Caps win in overtime!

Have I said that I love my life lately?  I love my life.

One thought on “Weekend O’ Fun

Leave a Reply

