Fed Up

I am so fed up with food in this country.   As a person who has struggled with her weight over the years,  I feel like I’ve run the gamut on food and can comment on what the population of our country consumes.  The portions and content of what we’re being served when we’re not eating in our own homes is quite simply disgusting.

Chris and I went grocery shopping on Sunday and bought with healthy minds.   Instead of our $50 bill filled with Mac and Cheese, chips and soda, we had paid $150 for fresh fruits, vegetables and chicken.   I had a moment when I saw that 1lb of grapes cost $7.00 because I realized that’s more than a value meal at McDonalds.   One package of grapes cost more than an entire meal at a fast food place.   What is wrong with this picture?

Access to affordable food that is healthy is expensive.   There is no way around it.   If you want to eat healthy, you have to cut out the cheap fast food and prepackaged meals at the grocery store, and buy things that have more quality to them.   It’s so frustrating because there are so many people who WANT to eat healthy, they just simply can’t afford it.

This morning, I read a news article about meals that two popular restaurants are on the verge of rolling out and I wanted to kick and scream because even the IDEA of these meals is disgusting.

Denny’s is happy to introduce a cheese on cheese sandwich on their “value meal,” which is a grilled cheese sandwich stuffed with fried mozerella sticks.   Oh my god, are you kidding me?

Not to be outdone, Burger King is has announced the “Pizza Burger,” which will cost you $13, has 2,300 calories, 45 grams of fat and is served in six slices, just like a pizza.

Who comes up with this garbage?

I wish that healthy food was more economical and accessible.   It’s so difficult to do the right thing when the right thing is barely within reach.

4 thoughts on “Fed Up

  1. I read an interview with Jillian Michaels about this topic, and her argument was that even though it costs more to eat healthy (she was specifically speaking about organic), you end up saving money in the long run because you won’t have to pay as much in health care.

    I see her point but I still call BS. Being healthy is expensive in a variety of ways from food to gym memberships to classes, etc. It sucks.

  2. It is frustrating, especially when it comes to produce. Organic is even more expensive. I love shopping at Whole Foods but can no longer afford it.

  3. Word. And, in places like the inner city, where the population tends to be less affluent, there is not a lot of access to good grocery stores, etc. Our neighborhood corner store only carries junk food, and even that is priced up because of the captive market of city-bound folks.

  4. Yep…fruit costs an arm and a leg so does chicken breast. Although, I found that Bloom (I don’t shop there except for this one sale) does a buy one get one free chicken breast sale every couple of weeks…so I seriously stock up. Dan is health food nazi so we eat chicken close to 5 times a week. :(

Leave a Reply

