Carolina (and other things) on my mind…

I can’t believe how quickly the sun is setting on summer.  It feels like we were kicking off beach season in Ocean City over Memorial Day just a week ago, and now here we are, approaching Labor Day.  I suppose it’s true that time flies when you’re having fun.

We are completely booked over the next few weeks with birthday dinners, our last trip to Ocean City during actual summer, and a five day trip to North Carolina to close it all out over Labor Day.

I’m most excited about the trip to North Carolina.  It’s no secret that I love the Tarheel state, but I’m very much looking forward to sharing that piece of my life with Chris.  I feel like it’s really the only piece he hasn’t experienced yet and it’s a big part of who I am.  I don’t come from Carteret County, but there is something that feels like home there that I can’t deny.

We’ll leave on the Thursday evening before Labor Day, stop just south of Richmond for the night and continue our trip south on Friday morning.  We’ll stop at the world famous Wilburs BBQ in Goldsboro and if we’re lucky, see the fighter jets taking off and landing from the nearby Air Force base.

Chris will get to meet my wonderful grandmother, cousins, extended family,  and the little ones that I like to call my nephew and niece, but most importantly, he’ll get to see the one thing that has remained static my whole life.

I can’t wait to take him to El’s drive in for a shrimp burger and milkshake, and to show him Oceana pier.

I look forward to getting up at 5am on Saturday to board the Carolina Princess for a full day of deep sea fishing 50 miles off the coast.

I want to watch the sun set over Ft. Macon and take pictures to capture the memories.

I want to relax in the sun on the beach, talking and thinking, enjoying and being…

After spending a summer in a place he loves so much (the MD eastern shore), I’m grateful to have the opportunity to show him a place that I love and adore so much.  It’s a place that may not be home, but it’s still mine.

Leave a Reply

