Friendship & Love

I think that in every relationship, there is a moment where something clicks and you’re filled with a sense of knowing something special is happening.  I’ve been in love with Chris since our very first kiss, but this weekend, I realized that I was in love with my very best friend.

Sure, I have my best girlfriends (BFF’s) who I will always have to confide in, gossip with and be a girl with, but on our roadtrip this past weekend, it occurred to me that Chris has become my best friend.  It’s kind of a great feeling, I’m not going to lie.

On Saturday, we drove up the Eastern Shore, hitting Bethany, Dewey and Rehoboth Beaches on our way to Dover to do a little gambling.  On that drive, we laughed at inside jokes and did fist bumps with explosions when we were happy with our shenanigans.  We were laughing about things that had happened in the past, being silly in the present and making memories for our future.

On a two lane road somewhere in Delaware, it hit me:  “This is the person I would call first for anything.  This is the person I think about when I go to sleep and wake up in the morning.  This is the person I can’t wait to get home to, and this is the person I want to share my life goals and dreams with.”

I didn’t tell Chris any of this until yesterday…I just let it settle in for a few days and enjoyed the comfort of the feeling.  It’s warm and fuzzy and something that’s brand new to me and I wish that I could bottle it up and share it with the whole wide world.

One thought on “Friendship & Love

Leave a Reply

