Recommendations!

I find myself fascinated by anything medical and I think it’s because I firmly believe that I don’t have the capacity to practice medicine.  Not that I’m not intelligent enough, just that I don’t have the want or need to do such a noble job.   I’ve never had the desire to be a doctor or be in the medical field at all, but I’m completely overwhelmed with curiosity as to how others become physicians.

As a reader, I’ve found myself reading a lot of medical memoirs written by surgeons, and I’ve learned so much through the hundreds of pages I’ve read.  A few years back, I read a book called “Another Day in the Frontal Lobe,” which was written by a female brain surgeon.  I reread it a few months ago and it was just as interesting the second time around.

Then of course I stumbled upon the book “Better” by Atul Gawande.  Still one of the best books I’ve read all year.  I’ve recommended it to some friends who have read it and they all loved it as much as I did.

I just started reading  Gawande’s other medical memoir called “Complications,” and like “Better,” I can not put it down.

Since I like his writing so much, I decided to see if he has anymore books out there for me to read, and what do you know!  He does.  His third and final (as of now) book is called “The Checklist Manifesto.”  While it’s not a book that is so medically centered, it focuses on the importance of pre-planning and checklists not only in medicine, but in life.  Might be interesting…at this point I’ll read anything by him.

My last recommendation is an article that Gawande wrote for the New Yorker about health care reform.  It’s completely fascinating and written in a humanized voice.  You can read “The Cost Conundrum,” here.

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

