Something Different

Working in a hotel, you’d think that I would get to experience the “operation” on a regular basis, but 99% of the time, I’m completely behind the scenes.  I had the rare opportunity to leave the hotel yesterday and help out with an off premise event at DAR Constitution Hall.  Our catering department was doing dinner for 1,000 people, so it was literally all hands on deck.

I was part of the first group to arrive, so I was put on butter duty, squeezing garlic and chive butter into square ceramic containers to be followed up by being smoothed flush to the container.  There were four of us working on this one task and it took 2 hours.  By the time we finished with the butter, I had to get back to the office, but it was fun nonetheless.

While I was there, I got to see the setup of the room, see how the banquets servers pull it together, see how the kitchen plates up all of the different courses and of course, see it all happen hours before the event is to even take place.

The final product is on the far, far right. This is only 150 out of the 1,000 butters. :)

Buttering fool.

Part of the Culinary team beginning to plate up the first course.

After a long day of work, Chris and I went to the Caps/Thrashers game where we were surprised to learn that they were delivering the Presidents Trophy.  I learned that the Presidents Trophy is the award for the most wins in all of the NHL.  First time the Capitals have ever claimed said trophy and it was awesome.

Trophy being delivered to the team before the game.

Trophy!

Mwuah!

…oh, and Caps won 5-2 which means free wings @ Glory Days!  Woot!

One thought on “Something Different

  1. I love it! 12 years ago I attended, fresh out of the hospital, every post season game the Caps played in Washington, including the Stanley Cup. They have a far better chance of actually winning it this year, and I am sad that I am not in Washington to experience the excitement!!

Leave a Reply

