For Your Consideration…

One of the upsides (if there is one) of having an hour commute each way, every day, is that I’m able to catch up on a ton of reading.  This past week, I read three books and I wanted to share each of them because they were all equally excellent, while equally different.

Better:  A Surgeons Notes on Performance, was a book that I could not put down.  Literally, I was standing on the platform waiting for the train with my face in the book, it was that good.  I was completely fascinated by the stories Gawande wrote about and I couldn’t wait to read the next chapter.  It was a book that I never wanted to end.  You don’t have to be a medical professional to appreciate the awesomeness of this book and I’d recommend it to anyone.

The second book that I read was a light chick lit read called I’m So Happy For You.  It was a super light read about two best friends who have a tiff because one of them runs into really good luck and the other gets jealous.  I’d give it a solid B just because it was pretty predictable, but still, an easy and light read.

I finished out the week (and the weekend) by reading Gabby: Confessions of a Hockey Lifer, which was written by Bruce Boudreau, the head coach of the Washington Capitals.  As a huge Caps fan, it was a very entertaining read.  I loved hearing how he rose to the ranks of head coach and how such an unlikely hockey player made his way as the new hero of Washington.  It was a great read and I feel like I can look at the Caps (and Boudreau) in a new and more fun light.

2 thoughts on “For Your Consideration…

  1. I’m so glad you shared about Better! Makes me very excited to read it now. I was “supposed” to read 6 books by the time I meet with my adviser, but I’m hoping he’ll settle for 3. :)

Leave a Reply

