Aviation Fascination

Tonight I went over to Ft. Myer in Arlington to see my Aunt who recently relocated to the area, and I was in for a major surprise upon my arrival.  Helicopter show!!  In her backyard!!!!  I love me some aviation, so in the midst of dinner when I heard the choppers start wailing, I dropped my fork and ran outside to see what was going on.

Turns out, they were retiring the Huey helicopter.  It’s being replaced with a newer, space age looking helicopter named the Lakota.  The thing is a beast.

My dad and I made our way out onto the field and got to look at the Blackhawk and Lakota up close and personal.  SO COOL.  The Blackhawk is like a giant 1993 Chevy Suburban.  The Lakota is like a 2010 BMW.  But both were so awesome to see…we poked our heads inside of them, talked to the pilot of one, and just admired them for about an hour.  The coolest part was when they left.  We stood about 60 yards from the Blackhawk as it took off, and just like in the movies, the wind nearly knocked me off of my feet.  It was such an awesome rush.  I feel so lucky to have access to such awesome things like this!  Great way to start my weekend.

I took some pictures with my cell phone and they came out looking like a hot mess, so I apologize, but, you get the idea.

Blackhawk prepping to take flight.

Blackhawk prepping to take flight.

The new Dakota.

The new Lakota.

Dakota up close.  SO COOL!

Lakota up close. SO COOL!

Me & the Dakota.  Check out the "trunk" in the back!

Me & the Lakota. Check out the "trunk" in the back!

My awkward face definitely ruined this picture, but this is me & the Blackhawk.

My awkward face definitely ruined this picture, but this is me & the Blackhawk.

Leave a comment