I Didn’t See This Coming…

…but I’m sort of enjoying “city life.”

Minus people being rude on the train, I finally see the advantages of public transportation.  Mainly that it saves me a shit ton of money as well as the stress that is involved whenever driving into the District.  Oh, and it’s so fast compared to driving.  Seriously, I never drive.  And when I say never, I mean never.  Okay, maybe like 3 times a month.  The last time I got into my car, I hit the brakes and almost hit my face on the steering wheel because I basically forgot how to drive! Mornings are much better than afternoons, as I can control what time I get my happy ass to the bus stop.  Coming home can be more difficult because I sometimes just miss the bus and then have to wait 20 minutes for the next one…but, sometimes I say screw it and take a cab home.  It’s only a 6 minute ride.

In addition to living closer to the city, I also like just being in and around the city on a daily basis.  I like that I can walk a few blocks to run my errands.  I like that when I go to happy hour with my work friends, we go to bars that are two blocks from the White House.  When I really stop to think about it, it’s just cool.

Honest to god, I never thought I’d live in Arlington, and I definitely never thought I’d work in the District.  But, I love it all, and I wouldn’t change it for anything.

Leave a Reply

