Week One Is Done

Hooray!  I made it through my first week of work!  Yay!  It’s a shortened week because we’re off tomorrow (because of the 4th), but I made it!  It’s been overwhelming, but I am loving it.  I have so many fun and exciting responsibilities, and I love the interaction I get from all of the different people I see each day.

Human Resources is kind of difficult to describe if you’ve never worked in that environment.  There are so many different realms when it comes to HR, and there are so many parts of it that I never even knew existed.  I wish I could explain my job in full detail, but I really can’t.  But, I can tell you that I get to be creative (making fun flyers, creating invitations, helping to plan events), help people (setup new applicants who walk-in, help my co-workers with various projects), and I get to learn!  I really can’t wait to see where I’ll be 6 months from now in this position.

The commute has been kind of brutal though, I’m not gonna lie.  I think part of it is my adjusting to the schedules of the bus and the train, and that may work itself out as I become more comfortable using public transportation.  With the metro crash having happened a few weeks ago, the disruptions have continued, as the trains are being operated manually while they try to resolve what happened on the red line.  It makes for a less than perfect ride, but it will do.  I’m just giving myself enough time to handle the delays here and there so that I’m not one of those crazy people throwing elbows and running through the stations.  I’d much prefer to get to work early, eat my free breakfast in the employee cafeteria and get my coffee.

It’s all just really good.

2 thoughts on “Week One Is Done

  1. Are you telling me you want me to drive or fly all the way up to Rhode Island just to use one of my free hotel rooms when I could just stay at your house? Wouldn’t you rather me use my free hotel in NYC or somewhere YOU could benefit from that could be considered vacation? Can you say girls getaway? :-)

Leave a Reply

