Living it and Loving it

“The purpose of life is to live it, to taste experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experience.” — Eleanor Roosevelt

So much positivity these days!  I am loving it.

First of all – I got a job.  Finally.  I began my search at the end of March and finally got an offer this past Friday.  The position is working at the Grand Hyatt in the District as an Human Resources Assistant.  I’ll have my hands in all of the different parts of HR, so that’s exciting because I’ll learn a lot.  Plus, I will get excellent benefits and perks, and since I love to travel, that’s just a bonus.  The only real downside to the job is that the commute is going to take some getting used to.  But, I’ll adapt.  I’ll get into a routine with taking the metro and it will be fine.  Just add me to the list of the other 4,000.000,000 who ride public transportation on a daily basis.  haha!   I start this coming Monday and I couldn’t be more excited.

With getting a job in the District, I am seriously considering moving a little closer into the city…or at least closer to the metro.  Reston isn’t that far, but it would be nice to not have to take the bus to get to a metro station.  And I really don’t want to wait until 2011 when the new metro line comes out to Tysons.  My plan is to save up as much as I can through the summer which will hopefully put me in a position to move in the early fall.  This area is so damn expensive though, so I really have no clue where I’ll end up.  I haven’t lived with roommates in forever, and I can’t really stomach the idea to be quite honest.  I just like living alone, but I’m not sure it will be possible in this area.  At least not now.  We’ll see — I’m definitely working on it.

Also, I’m done with school for the summer which means I’m freeeeeee from class until August.  Last semester I took 18 credits, and then a week later, I launched into this six week Media Effects course, so school has been kicking my butt since January.  It’s going to be nice to have a break for the summer.

The rest of the summer is looking to be pretty busy, which is really nice.  Shannon’s wedding is quickly approaching, which means bridal showers, bachelorette parties and of course the wedding itself in September.  I’ve also got family coming into town for a few weeks in mid July, so that’s something to look forward to as well.  It’s rare for the North Carolina side of the family to visit, so it will be fun.

I really have no complaints.  Life is really good these days.
One thought on “Living it and Loving it

  1. YAY for life being good!!! I am SO happy for you!!! Again congrats on the job!!! I know it was a tough search and a long road but well worth it since you will get 100 free hotel rooms a year! ;) HA!!!….I seriously might look into this hotel thing after the wedding…id love to do what you are starting on Monday!…Ummm holy exciting about making a plan to move closer to DC! How fun! you can do it! Focus on things and make a budget and to do list while you are now done with school for a lil bit…that might help!…..YAY for my wedding festivities & the actually big day! Thank you so much for all of your hard PLANNING & money contributions! It means the world to me! I cant wait to see what you girls have done! Again, be nice to me. :) HA……….and YAY for…laskjdfaklsjdfkasjdfkajsdfklasjdf ; )

Leave a Reply

