Latitude -37° 49′ 0″ / Longitude 144° 58′ 0″

imageOne of my very best friends is relocating to Melbourne, Australia for a year.  I am so excited for her, but I am going to have to adjust to this whole 14 hour time difference thing.  I’m not so good with time changes.

A few years back, the same friend was working in Los Angeles, and I lived in Virginia.  She would fly to California on Sunday nights and come back to Virginia on Thursday evenings.

Like clockwork, Monday-Thursday, she would call me on her way to work at 8am, which was 11am my time.  We’d chat for a few minutes as she drove through the streets of Los Angeles, and then we’d get on with our days.

One Friday, as 8am rolled around in Virginia, I realized I needed to ask my friend something, and since we were in the same time zone (it being a Friday), I called her.

“Hello?”  Asked a groggy voice.

“What are you doing?”  I asked.

“Uh, sleeping,” she replied, sounding very annoyed.

“Well, wake up.  It’s 8 o’clock,” I said.

“No, it’s 5,” she replied.

“Uhhhhh…what?” I said.

“It’s 5am, beast, I’m in LA!” she said, even more annoyed.

“What day is it?  Isn’t it Friday?” I replied, completely confused.

“Yes, I’m staying in LA this weekend – I told you that!!!” She exclaimed.

“What?!  I’m so confused.  It’s Friday, you’re supposed to be in Virginia!  I can’t believe I called you at 5am, I am so sorry,” I said, as I tried to figure things out in my slowly responding brain.

“Arrrgghh, fine, whatever, I’ll call you back later,” she said as she hung up the phone.

The line went dead, and I literally stared at the phone for a good 20 seconds.  “WTF just happened,” was all I could think.

Timezones have been a running joke throughout our friendship.  We’ve traveled together to many a place, and I am the queen of “But it’s __:__pm at home.”  It drives my friend CRAZY.  She is convinced that whatever time zone you’re in, is your HOME timezeone.

We once went to Vegas, which is 3 hours behind east coast time, and I made sure that my friend knew that the entire trip.  Upon arriving in Vegas, it was 11pm.  In Vegas.  Guess what that means?  It was 2am in Virginia.  My friend ushered me into the hotel room to get ready to hit the town, while I pathetically whined, “But it’s 2am in Virginiaaaaaaaaaaaaa.”  That got me nowhere, and I got a glare that I shal never forget.

So in a few weeks, she’s going to be 14 hours AHEAD of me. Basically, she’ll be living in the future, which totally freaks my freak.

I really don’t know how I’m going to work with such a difference.  I mean, really.  I could barely handle a 3 hour difference, how the crap am I going to handle half a day?

Leave a Reply

