First Edition Fascination

the-catcher-in-the-rye-coverOne of my favorite books of all time is The Catcher in the Rye, by J.D. Salinger.  In high school, we were assigned to read this book, and I was in love with it by page ten.

Last night, I was talking to my family at a BBQ, and the subject of favorite books came up.  I casually mentioned that I would love to have a first edition copy of The Catcher in the Rye, but that it must be hundreds of dollars, so it’s obviously out of my price range.

This morning, I actually googled what a first edition would cost, and was stunned.  Literally, my mouth hung open for a good 17 seconds as I browsed the different sites selling the cherished first edition.

Average price of a first edition copy of The Catcher in the Rye?

$4,500.00.

I guess I should start saving.

Leave a Reply

