Accepting the End

One of my least favorite things in the world is when people talk about how relationships go through “ebs and flows.”  I get that not all relationships are perfect, friendship or otherwise, but my god, I hate that phrase.  As much as I hate it though, it’s the one phrase that comes to mind when I think about my continually disintegrating friendship with Q.

Q and I met about six years ago.  We became instant friends and bonded over margarita’s, ex-boyfriends and attitude.  We talked everyday, traveled together, provided advice or an ear to listen, and most importantly, loved each other as friends should.

In the past year, my relationship with Q has began to unravel at a startling speed.  Though it’s taken a year, it feels like a day.  We’ve spoken only twice and I would be lying if I said I didn’t miss her like crazy.  moonacre-bff

Some major things have happened in both mine and Q’s life over the past 365 days, so it’s understandable that there would be some natural distance as we each try to work through our own lives.  But for our entire friendship to collapse is certainly sad to say the least.

Friendships sometimes run their course.  Maybe Q and I were only meant to be friends for a brief period of our lives.  Maybe now is the time when we’re supposed to go our separate ways.  Maybe now is the time that I should stop trying to force the friendship to still exist and just let it die naturally.

It’s sad.  It really is.  But I have wonderful memories with Q that I will always have, and that makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

