Ovechkin

ovechkinpoliticsHe’s 23 years old.  He’s a hockey phenom who just might become the greatest player of our time.  He’s the only player in the history of the NHL to win all four individual trophies in one season and his method of playing the game unusual to say the least.

Alexander Ovechkin has taken over as the President of D.C.  He has single handedly brought my love of hockey back to the surface, and I have a local team that I can be proud of.

With the horrific Washington Nationals, an NBA team I could care less about, and the less than stellar Redskins, it’s great to have a team to cheer for.  Capitals fever has swept through the region and I am totally swept up in it.

nhl_g_ovechkin_300The thing about Ovie is that his style is unique.  He’s celebrates his goals like football players celebrate touchdowns.  He throws down his stick and warms his hands over it because it’s so hot.  He jumps around.  He jumps into the glass towards the fans.  He gets excited after every goal – like it’s the first goal he’s ever made.  His youthful exuberance makes watching him even more fun.  His teammates and fans alike also seem to enjoy the enthusiasm.

It’s so rare in professional sports for players to maintain a high level of excitement.  As with most jobs, professional sports can sometimes become just that – a job.  There are few players that I can name who still have that magical spark, and by few, I mean barely any.  At least as far as I am concerned.  I see it in Boston Red Sox Pitcher, Jonathan Papelbon.  I saw it in Brett Favre.  And I see it in Ovechkin.  Players like Lebron James, Kobe Bryant, Derek Jeter and other famous professionals just appear to be going through the motions.  Yes, they are good at what they do.  But do they play like it’s their last game?  No.

sharks_caps14b The Caps are hot.  But we have to remember that it’s not just because of Ovechkin.  It’s a team effort.  But I will say that if they’re hot, Ovechkin is the spark that started the fire.

As a Capitals fan, I am grateful to the passion that has been reignited to the DC metro area, and I am thrilled that Ovie will be with us for 13 more years.  I am excited as the possibilities that are in front of us, and I am even more excited to watch the Capital and Ovie grow as a team.

C-A-P-S, CAPS, CAPS, CAPS!

For one of the best pieces I’ve seen on Ovechkin, check out the story E:60 aired on April 21st:

http://espn.go.com/video/clip?id=4087085

Leave a Reply

