Exciting News

2852544928_008ca19eaa

I’ve been working on myself for almost a year now, and I feel like I’ve made a lot of progress.  I’m putting myself out there, becoming more social, challenging myself academically, and just living a more fulfilling life in general.

When I moved back to Virginia back in May of ’08, there was one goal that I really wanted to reach, and that was volunteering.  It wasn’t something I was ready to do upon first moving back, but I am finally at a place in my life where I want to do something good for my community.  So – I have landed a volunteer spot at the Literacy Council of Northern Virginia!

I will be tutoring an adult who already speaks and writes a little bit of English, but needs help further improving their knowledge.  It will be something I’ll do about twice a week, and I’m really excited about it.

I am such a firm believer that literacy can open all kinds of doors, so I am very excited to participate in something that I am so passionate about.

I will train for 3 consecutive Saturdays, beginning February 21st,  and will then be assigned a student.

SO. EXCITED!

Leave a Reply

