Sweet Ginger Goodness

I’ve never been a big fan of sushi.  I stick to California Rolls mostly, but sometimes I’ll venture out and try something new.

Tracy invited me to lunch today and wanted to take me to a restaurant called “Sweet Ginger” located near her office in downtown Vienna.  I told her as long as they had California Rolls, I was good.

We get to the restaurant, located in a little unassuming shopping center, we sit down and browse the menu.  I nervously search for something I am willing to try, and I settle on the Spicy California Roll.  Tracy is swearing up and down that the Shrimp Tempura roll is the greatest thing she’s ever encountered, and we both end up ordering the same thing:  Spicy California Roll & Shrimp Tempura Roll.

Spicy California Roll with Roe (Salmon eggs)

Spicy California Roll with Roe (Salmon eggs)

Shrimp Tempura Roll

Shrimp Tempura Roll

Oh my Virginia friends – you MUST try this place if you enjoy any type of sushi related anything.  I am serious when I say it’s the best sushi I’ve ever come across.  Google it to find directions – it’s well worth the trip.

5 thoughts on “Sweet Ginger Goodness

  1. i looooooooooove sushi! i just picked some up the other night since steve played tennis after work. he hates it…or so he thinks….i love salmon rolls, tuna rolls, and a few other rolls…i forget the names, im still learning! :)

  2. He needs to know that not all sushi is raw. :) For instance, the california rolls i love so much are just avacado, crab and cucumber wrapped in seaweed and rice. usually they don’t have the salmon eggs in them! also, some of it is actually cooked – like the shrimp tempura rolls! we should totally switch gears and go THERE for lunch on saturday!!!

  3. I LOVE SUSHI! There is a cute little sushi place in blacksburg http://www.bigalssportsbar.com/PBsushi.htm
    I just started going with a friend from work and I love it… the restaurant is painted all black and has red cool shaped tables and then they have white paper lamps… totally cool atmosphere.
    I always get the **75 – Kirby’s Special Roll – tempura shrimp, cream cheese, cucumber, avocado & spicy sauce topped w/ tobiko, wasbi aioli & eel sauce** it is something one of the workers there came up with and it is YUM. The other night I tried **74 – Tempuriffic Tuna – tuna, avocado, cream cheese, cucumber & spicy sauce, topped w/ tobiko, green onions & a side of ponzu** Another GOODIE! :o)
    The 3 of us should go for sushi sometime when we are all in NoVA! :o)

  4. OMG, that concoction that the worker came up with sounds AMAZING!!! I want to try Kirby’s special roll RIGHT NOW!! :) We definitely need to make a sushi date sometime. Maybe if ya’ll are home for the holidays we can do it then. Miss youuuuu!

Leave a Reply

