Make it Work

This morning, I was terribly excited to have my advising appointment with my counselor to discuss my academic schedule for the Spring semester.  I know it’s early, but believe it or not, registration actually begins in October!  Anyway, I have been extremely organized when it comes to mapping out my remaining courses, and I was anxious to discuss the home stretch of my undergraduate degree.

However, my adviser should have just smacked me across the face, because I got news that I wasn’t expecting in any way, shape or form.

I can’t graduate until the Spring of 2010.  FUCK.

It turns out, that the ONE class that I need has a pre-req that isn’t available until next fall.  Which means that I can’t take that stupid class until the following Spring.

I’ve e-mailed my adviser, begging and pleading for the University to work with me in some way.  It makes me sick to my stomach that my graduation would be prevented from ONE CLASS.

It’s extremely frustrating to go down this road and deal with such disappointment.  I am hoping against hope that ECU with work with me and that together, we can come up with a solution that will allow me to fulfill my goal of graduating in December of ’09.

If graduating in 2010 is my only option, then I’m going to have to accept that.  I’ll deal with it and I’ll move on.

I broke down this morning, crying my eyes out – but then I breathed and realized that I have little control over the matter and that what will be, will be.

In the words of Tim Gunn, I’m “making it work.”

Leave a Reply

