An Unexpected Surprise

Rarely do my Mom and I go shopping together.  Even more rarely do we venture to the disaster of mass amounts of people that is also known as Tysons Corner Mall.  Today was an exception.  We decided to spend the afternoon together, heading to Tysons to get our shop on.

We arrived at Nordsrom and browsed through handbags that seemed like a mirage.  I gazed adoringly at a beautiful Dolce and Gabanna leopard print bag, wishing to spend just one day with it.

$2,950.  That's what you get for real fur...

$2,950. That's what you get for real fur...

I tried on a buttery soft Kooba bag that wanted to be kept snugly under my arm for eternity.

Oh Kooba, how I love thee so.

Oh Kooba, how I love thee so.

I stared at myself longingly with a Marc Jacobs bag on my shoulder, gazing, as though Marc had designed it specifically for me.

The perfection that is Marc Jacobs.

The perfection that is Marc Jacobs.

We eventually made our way from the purses…sadly waving goodbye…the smell of the leather and sparkle of the metallics, fading away in the distance.

We wound our way over the sunglasses, and after trying a zillion pair on, I scored an awesome pair of Marc, by Marc Jacobs shades.  They’re gigantic and super dark and I love them. They were only $99.75, including tax, and considering how much I’ve paid for sunglasses in the past, I consider that a steal.  If you know me, you know that I LOVE big, name brand, ridiculously overpriced glasses…this was definitely the find of the month for me.

Contrary to popular belief, this is not me.  These are, however, my new and fabulous sunglasses.

Contrary to popular belief, this is not me. These are, however, my new and fabulous sunglasses.

Mom and I made our way over to Coach in hopes of really just finding a seat to relax in.  Looking at handbags can sure wipe a girl out.  While we were there, I smelled the new Coach perfume, which I instantly fell in love with.  I’m not big on a lot of things Coach (even though I have two bags), but this perfume is yuuuuuuuuuuummy.  It’s kind of pricey at $75, but it’s a pretty large bottle that should last about a year, if not longer.  I didn’t buy it today, but I added it to my list of “things I love.”

Coach "Legacy."  Divine!

Coach "Legacy." Divine!

We finally decided to leave the mall and end our day at Tiffany & Co.  What?  Sometimes it’s fun to look!  Tiffany is right across the street from Tysons, so once we battled our way through traffic, we parked and tumbled through the enormous steel doors that stood between us and heaven.

We browsed and wandered..ooohed and ahhed.  Mom picked out a gorgeous ring that I am totally going to borrow five times a week, and I picked out an adorably sweet star necklace.  Such a lovely treat for an afternoon out with Mom.

Mom's "knot" ring. Classy and casual.

Mom's "knot" ring. Classy & casual.

A star I can wish upon...

A star I can wish upon...

Days like this don’t come often enough, and sometimes, an impromptu Mom & Daughter day is just what a girl needs to put a delicious smile on her face.

Leave a Reply

