To Write Love on Her Arms

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

It’s time for some brutal honesty. I shal not be ashamed of my path, nor the circumstances that have led me to here. As one of millions of people who have battled depression, I believe I should speak about it…not hide it.

Though I’ve never been suicidal or inflicted bodily harm against myself, I have been depressed. For years I’ve played tug of war with it. Sometimes winning, sometimes losing. Always aware of the struggle. I am one who is able to recognize it, but to many, depression is often ignored.

Today I stumbled upon an organization called “To Write Love on Her Arms.” I was on Jon Foreman’s myspace page, listening to his music when I saw the link to his band “Switchfoot.” I went to their page, listening to new music, when I saw their “number one” friend. It was called “To Write Love on Her Arms.” Initally, I thought it was a band I had never heard of, but might like. I quickly realized it wasn’t a band – that it was a movment. A movement that began with one girl’s story of becoming whole after being shattered. A movement about preventing depression, suicide, alcohol and drug abuse and inflicing bodily harm against one’s self in young people. A movement that sheds light – that gives hope. That gives options.

Depression and the effects of it is such a taboo subject. It’s a dirty little secret. But TWLOHA is trying to re-write the book.

It happens everyday. To your friends. Professionals. Strangers in the mall. Family members. Neighbors. Public Figures. It surrounds you. You can’t escape it. You have surely encountered someone, at some point, maybe even yourself, who has battled these issues.

I encourage you to view their site, and to learn more about their movement. Education, hope and most importantly, love can be the answer.

To Write Love on Her Arms

Q.What is To Write Love on Her Arms?
A. TWLOHA is a non-profit movement dedicated to presenting hope and finding help for those struggling with depression, addiction, self-injury and suicide. TWLOHA exists to encourage, inform, inspire, and also to invest directly into treatment and recovery.

Q: How did TWLOHA start?
A: To Write Love on Her Arms began in Orlando, FL in February 2006 as a (written) story, the true story of five days spent with a friend who was denied entry into a drug treatment center. The story was a look at those five days, and the t-shirts were printed and sold initially as a way to pay for our friend’s treatment.

Leave a Reply

