Disasters and Adventures

Oy!  Yesterday started as normal as humanly possible.  I woke up, had my breakfast, put my sneakers on and was about to leave for the gym.  It was storming out, so my Mom couldn’t go for her daily swim at our outdoor neighborhood pool, so I suggested she join me at the YMCA.  The YMCA has an indoor pool that she used to go to all of the time, so she was quick to say yes.

We went our separate ways once we arrived at the Y.  I went upstairs to get on the elliptical while she stayed downstairs to get into the pool.  About 20 minutes into my workout, these two girls who looked about 12 walked up to me and said “Is your name Natalie?”  As I ripped out my headphones in a fit of irritation I said “uhh, yes.”  They said I needed to go downstairs because my Mom had been in some sort of accident. 

I got downstairs to discover that she had slipped upon entering the pool and pretty much fell face first and ate the tile.  She had some nice little scrapes and cuts on her left ankle, toe, knee and right elbow.  She had bumped her head too.  (Thankfully that was the last thing she hit!)  The majority of her injury though rested in her left arm.  She was pretty stunned, so I gathered her things and we made our way to the car.  She attempted to put her seatbelt on, but upon screaming in agony, I decided it was time to go to the hospital. 

Four hours later we had a diagnosis.  She had a radial fracture pretty much where the elbow meets the forearm.  She’s going to be in a wicked cast up to her elbow for a few weeks which pretty much sucks.  But, considering the circumstances and what could have happened, I’d say she’s pretty lucky.

Clearly this isn't her actual cast - just an example.  Though I may scrawl "num nuts" on her cast as well.

Clearly this isn't her actual cast - just an example. Though I may scrawl "num nuts" on her cast as well.

 

Tracy came over last night for Tennis tuesday, but because I didn’t get my complete workout in earlier in the day, we decided to go to the gym instead.  Ugh.  Remind me never to attempt finishing a workout hours later in the same day.  Holy shit my legs were killing me.  I think they had loosened up earlier in the day during the initial session, but by the time I got back to the gym at 5 o’clock, my body just wasn’t having it.  But, I pushed myself and stayed on the stupid machine for 45 minutes.  We skipped the weights which I’ll do when I go to the gym in a few hours.

We hit Target on the way home to get some gear for our hiking trip this weekend!  We’re going to go out to Skyline Drive about an hour away and attempt to enjoy nature.  The more I exercise, the more I want to do stuff like that.  So anyway, we went hunting for “camelbacks.”  These neat little backpacks that are filled with water (almost like an IV pouch) that have a large tube for you to drink out of as you hike or cycle or anything like that.  It beats the crap out of carrying a large water bottle. 

My new two liter camel back that I'm pretty sure will save my life during my attempt at hiking which I haven't done in years.

My new two liter camel back that I'm pretty sure will save my life during my attempt at hiking which I haven't done in years.

 

...Though this "camel back" might work better...

...Though this "camel back" might work better...

 Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

