Changes All Around

I’ve set a tremendous amount of change into motion. I joined the local YMCA on June 17th and committed to working out three days a week to start with. It began slightly rocky with my only being able to do about 20 minutes on the eliptical machine, but I stuck with 3 days a week. It’s been three weeks since I began working out and I’m up to 45 minutes of solid cardio four to five times a week, and I’ve lost 10 pounds.

Along with the working out, I’ve been eating better than I have in my life. I feel like I’m making great choices, eating lots of fruits and veggies and it’s making a difference. I feel better not only physically, but emotionally and mentally as well.

I’m playing tennis at night in addition to working out at the gym, and I’m integrating weights in the next two or three weeks. I need to get stronger on the cardio before I introduce yet another element to the equation.

I’m also not depriving myself of things because I know if I do, I’ll fall off the wagon in a fit of cravings. I allow myself one regular coke per day and drink water the rest of the time. I’m also allowing small treats 1-2 times a week, but in exceptionally small portions – just enough to get a taste. :)

I look forward to the gym, I look forward to eating fresh foods and I look forward to results.

On another note, i started seeing a new therapist who I think is going to help me tremendously. She’s not only a therapist, but a life coach. I’m very optimistic that our time together will be of great benefit to me. In the past, I’ve only had one foot in the door…resisting the idea of actually facing things I’ve shoved down for so long – but this time, I’ve got my whole body and mind into it. Finally!

I’m in such a great position to better myself, and I’d be an idiot if I didn’t embrace the opportunity.

I’m taking it day by day, breathing it all in, and wrapping my arms around my new life.

Leave a Reply

