Holy Wow

Holy Wow

So a few months back, I wrote about a new blog I was writing in on the website for FoxSports. I was writing for myself mostly….trying to gain experience writing about sports, learning from other bloggers, etc…

I was lucky enough to have two blogs featured on certain sections of the website within my first few weeks of writing. First, I wrote a story about Nascar drivers and whether they should be considered athletes. Shortly after that, the story was featured on the front page of the Nascar section of the website.

A few weeks later, I wrote a reflection piece on my time as an NHL fan. The next day, the blog was on the front page of the NHL section.

While all very exciting, it doesn’t quite compare to the excitement that was today.

I wrote a light and fluffy blog about the epic drama that has become Tony Romo & Jessica Simpson. The blog was intended to be light hearted and poke fun at those in which the media claim to blame Miss Simpson for the Cowboys collapse. I didn’t think anything of it when I went to bed last night, nor did I even remember that I wrote it when I woke up this morning. In the world of sports, I found it completely irrelevant.

However, in between two classes today, I checked my email from my fabulous smart phone. Much to my surprise, I had over 60 emails of comments in regards to that blog. What the hell?

When I got home, I discovered that my blog wasn’t featured just on the front page of the NFL section, but on the MAIN PAGE of Foxsports.com. 15,000 views!!! As in, go to http://www.foxsports.com, and the blog is there. Unbelievable.

As the day has turned into evening, I’ve been bombarded with hundreds of comments. Mostly nice, or at least civil, but a few have been below the belt, low blows.

It’s been interesting…trying to figure out how to NOT take things personally, especially when you’re being judged and personally attacked my complete strangers.

I keep trying to remind myself that this is just practice as far as writing for the masses goes. Everyone is going to have an opinion, and everyone is going to have a comment. I respect that for the most part, but I definitely don’t respect the personal criticism that certain people feel compelled to cast upon me.

I actually responded directly to some people who attacked me via comments. Some surprisingly turned their story around and apologized upon realizing I am a real person, not just a faceless series of sentences strung together.

Anyway – it has been an interesting experience to say the least. The exposure aspect is amazing, and hearing what people like and don’t like is also exceptionally beneficial. The attacks I could definitely do without, but such is life. I’m focusing on the fact that this is excellent exposure for me, a great confidence booster, and a foot in the door when it comes to my dream.

:)

Leave a Reply

