Medicore

I’ve never been one to be a perfectionist. I tend to be pretty medicore, and it shows in where I am so far in my life. I have skated by with average grades, am pretty blase about working out, and just living life in general.

I am at a point now where I want to do greater things. It’s so difficult to stay on track and remain modivated, but I’m trying. School has always been a struggle for me because I tend to not apply myself. A week off for Spring Break really threw me back into being lazy, and I’m hoping once I get back into class tomorrow, that my routine I’ve gotten used to, will just come back with ease. This semester has flown by already, and I really only have one month of classes left before finals start. I need to keep that in the forefront of my mind…that the majority of the semester is over, and the hard part is behind me.

Working out is coming to me more easily than it has in the past. I think because I’m at a point where I’m holding myself accountable each week, it makes it easier to want to actually put forth the effort in working out. It’s still a challenge, but having small goals is making it a lot more appealing. I really want to join a gym here in Austin. Lifetime Fitness is opening a new gym about 2 miles from my house, but I found out today it’s not opening until October. Boo!!! I’m going to have to get through the next 6 months and just focus on the fact that come October, I’ll have a gym to go to!

The weather in Austin has been pretty disgusting lately. I don’t ever remember such weeks of foul weather in Texas! We had three straight days of severe thunderstorms last week, and we’ve had extremely low cloud cover since Friday. Last I heard, it’s supposed to be gross, stormy, and generally depressing for the next solid week. Ugh.

Training Layla is extremely frustrating. Honestly, I have no idea how my parents trained my childhood dog. Maybe it was that we had Rudy as a puppy and were able to mold him as he aged. Layla is 2.5 years old, and has the attention span of a gnat. She’s getting pretty good at “sit”, but I have a hard time really being happy about that, because she pretty much already knew how to sit when we got it. “Stay” has been the command of late, but if she knows I don’t have a treat in hand, she pretty much walks away and heads towards the pantry to look for a treat. I want to train her so that she’s a socially acceptable dog. So that she doesn’t jump and bark and lick and be annoying. She wants so badly to just be loved on, but at the same time, she needs to learn she can’t have what she wants all of the time. It’s just an exhausting and frustrating task. Wish me luck!

That’s all for tonight…back to school tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

