Another Year

I haven’t really given most birthdays much of a thought. Until today. Up until this point, birthdays to me were just a number, and another reason to party. I woke up today feeling 27, and it honestly scared the crap out of me. I had orientation for school yesterday and got registered for classes, so turning 27 and still not having my diploma just hit me hard. It’s fine though. I know I’m on my way.

They say you only get better with age, and I’m hoping that’s the case. I found myself giddy about school once I got my schedule finalized and I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel. Wandering around a campus lined with trees made me feel like an actual college student for the first time. As did being in a room with a bunch of 20 year olds. No matter what though, it’s given me the drive to finish before I’m 30.

I have good thoughts about my 27th year. 26 was a struggle, and I finally feel like I’m in a place to really open up and allow myself to truly be me. There is no other place I’d rather be than in Austin, and I want to take full advantage of it. I don’t appreciate it as often as I should, but,, I have a pretty great life with wonderful people in it. I’ve had the freedom to figure out what I want to do, where I want to live and how I want to live my life. I’ve lost a lot, traveled a lot, changed my mind a lot, and moved a lot, but ultimately, and most importantly, learned a lot.

Here’s to 2007 and being 27.

Leave a Reply

