Fired & Photography

I’ve never been fired from a job. Until now. And might I just preface this story that being fired is complete bullshit in my situation.

Saturday afternoon I woke up with a headache. By 2pm it was in full blown migraine mode. I did everything that I could to get rid of it because I knew I had to work at 5. I spent the afternoon lying perfectly still in the dark, putting ice on my head, taking my migraine medicine, and taking hot baths. Nothing worked, and it only got worse. By 4 o’clock, I realized that there was no way that I could go to work. I called to talk to the Manager, and I spent 15 minutes on the phone with 3 different managers trying to explain my situation. I told them I couldn’t even handle the light, let alone driving and working. Instead of being understanding, they told me that I couldn’t return to work unless I had a Dr’s note. I tried to explain that it was a Saturday, and even if I needed to go to the doctor, I wouldn’t be able to since it was a weekend. I explained that with a migraine, I had to let it run it’s course and it was out of my hands. They stood firm with their doctor’s note and I hung up the phone.

I woke up on Sunday morning feeling wiped out, but better. They ended up calling me later in the morning leaving some pathetic voicemail saying “don’t worry about the dr’s note…we need you to work tonight.” My thoughts on this are that they realized that they screwed themselves and were short staffed, but that’s their problem. I won’t work for such assholes like that. If they’d been understanding, I would have been at work on Sunday night and this week, but ultimately, they’re the ones losing out.

The job was a piece of shit anyway.

I’m holding out on the job situation for now. I have my transfer orientation next Tuesday, and I will find out what classes I’ll be taking and when I’ll be taking them. Once I get the school stuf figured out, I can re-evaluate the job.

Last night I was talking to my Dad about the lack of direction I feel that I have for my future, and he had a suggestion that really struck a chord in me. He suggested combining two passions of mine, writing & photography into something and maybe going into photo-journalism. I’m not sure what kind of career I could have with that, but it’s something I’m certainly going to inquire about next week at Orientation.

I woke up this morning feeling inspired and I decided to drive around Austin and take some pictures of my city. Here are a few that I really enjoyed.

Happy new year.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Leave a Reply

