Errrrrrrr Nesto

I should definitely be sleeping right now, and even though I took Tylenol PM 2 hours ago, I am still wide awake. Perhaps it’s the excitement of my first, real-live hurricane. Ernesto wasn’t even a thought in my mind yestereday, as he was a wimpy tropical depression movin through Florida. Oh, but he gets over the Atlantic again and gains strength becoming a category one hurricane tonight. He is supposed to make his presence known in about 3-4 hours. I think on a subconcious level I am worried that the power will go out in the middle of the night when I’m sleeping. I absolutely hate that. I sleep with a fan on…I need white noise, as I can not sleep in complete silence. When the power goes out, you can hear the electricity fade, and the stillness is deafening. I hate it. My heart stops as soon as I hear it go out. I have my flashlight in my bed with me for when & if it happens. Stupid effing hurricanes. Can you come through during the daylight hours next time?

So a lot of people are not aware of this little, fun side project I’ve got going on right now, but, I am trying to plan a trip to Australia. The trip is going to cost approx $2,500-$3,000, and since I am not made of money, I have had to resort to getting creative in coming up with the funds. With technology today, I decided to go the myspace route, and create a site devoted soley to getting me to Australia. It’s about finding out how rad complete strangers can be, and doing something good for a charity in the process. Donations accepted, and a percentage goes to an Australian charity. And believe it or not, random, complete strangers who I’ve never talked to a day in my life, are donating. The site has been up for about 5 weeks, and I have $40 donated. It doesn’t sound like much, but it’s a start, and when you consider where it’s coming from, it’s pretty awesome.

Check it out, tell your friends, but pass it on. :)

http://www.myspace.com/ineedtohugakoala

Leave a Reply

