D to the Allas

Texas. Dallas to be specific. I hadn’t been back to Texas in two years, and when we touched down at DFW, I felt like I was at home. I typically continue on to Austin, but this time, Dallas was the final destination.

I was to meet James @ the airport on Thursday night around 11. Well, James’ flight had an incident while still at LAX and as a result, was almost two hours late. I ended up sitting in the dark, empty, dirty american airlines terminal, by myself for 2 hours. Not fun. Praise jesus wireless internet was available and I had my precious Mac with me. Gawd. James FINALLY showed up and @ 2am we hit up Whataburger. If you’ve never been to Texas, you have absolutely no idea what I’m talking about…but it’s the best bugers ever. You’re so jealous.

So by the time we finished dinner and our normal giggle fits it was like 4am, so we totally slept til 11 the next morning. I had a laundry list of things I wanted to do on Friday before Hurricane Dennis rolled into town. Mostly, I wanted to go shopping becaue he refuses to act like an adult when it comes to shopping. Ever heard of a temper tantrum? That’s what happens when you get when you combine D & shopping. Anyway, we slept way too late, and James had work to do so by the time actually got ready to leave the house, we had like, an hour to get shit done. Needless to say, nothing got accomplished and we met up with D.

Friday night we totally did the relaxing thing. We totally went to El Fenix, which is amazing tex mex food. Yummy margarita’s were totally had. Well, by me at least. After dinner we went back to James’ Moms house where cold beers and a Texas evening were waiting. Specifically, Ziegenbock was waiting…its one of my favorite beers, and it’s ONLY available in the lonestar state. It was nice to just hang out, talk and drink some beers…..and I swear, you can really see the stars better in Texas.

Saturday we ended up having to run a bunch of errands that didn’t get run on Friday. To my horror, I mean, surprise, Dennis actually wanted to go run errands with us in the 106 degree heat. Not to bore you with the details, but we went shopping, ordered D’s golf clubs, and I finally, finally, FINALLY, got to go to Sam Moon. Okay – you’re not from Texas, you don’t know what Sam Moon is, but, I have heard about this place for the last SIX YEARS!!! Jewlery, Purses, Accessories galore — and for SUPER cheap. I’ve wanted to go forever, and finally got to make the trip. I had no idea what to expect, and when we walked in, I was instantly overwhelmed. First of all, I didn’t know where to look. Rings, Necklaces, Earrings and other jewlery lined the walls…and there were purses, bags, wallets & small luggage everywhere in between. Second of all, there were people EVERYWHERE. Mayhem!!! Sadly, I had no idea what I was looking for, and as a result ended up walking out with a purse that really will ever see the light of day with one shirt I own. Whatevs, next time I will be better prepared.

Saturday night we went to Billy Bobs – the World’s Largest Honky Tonk. Hell YES!!! They had a rodeo, Shinerbock on draft for $2.25, real cowboys, and Cory Morrow was playin. It was totally rad! Oh, and for our further entertainment, there was a bachelorette party that D and Justin were totally into. One of the bridesmaids walked up to Dennis at one point to “borrow him” and take a picture with a “cowboy.” Too bad he was a TOTAL poser in his “cowboy” outfit. Bahahahahaa. Whatevs, they were from Missouri, they had no clue The night was fun, but the drive home may have been the most fun. Me, James & D were squished into the back seat, and D, after about 26 beers decided it’d be fun to throw himself over us in the back 23948039483290 times in a row…successfully dive bombing into james’ chest 98% of the time. @ 2:30am we were wearing our sunglasses and heading back to the house…it was awesome.

Somewhere in the weekend – I think it was Friday, we decided we’d get tattoos. Every single vacation I go on with James and D, typically the first day of the vacay, I announce that I want to get a tattoo. Whether I’ve traveled somewhere, or someone has traveled to me, when the word vacation is involved, I want a tattoo. I dont know why – I have zero explanation – it just happens.

So randomly, on this trip, I mention tattoos, and suddenly, everyone is down like four flat tires. What? Shit, we’re actually going to do this?

Sunday we had tex mex again…3 times in a row, yeah. We ate, and walked next door to a tattoo shop with a tattoo artist sitting outside smokin a cigarette. He walked in with us and we proceeded to fill out our paperwork. We all got the same tattoo, just in different places. D got the texas star with color – red and blue. James got hers in black on the back of her neck, and I got mine on the inside of my left ankle…in between my ankle and the top of my foot. It hurt like a bitch. Way more than my neck. Waaaaaaaaaaaaaay!!!! Worth it though. I love it. :)

The weekend went by so effing fast I could hardly believe it. I was so sad to get on a plane on Monday and leave my best friends behind. But that is what makes these trips so great. We only get to see eachother every few months, so each time, as hard as it is to say goodbye, there is always the next visit to look forward to.

Ahhhh, Texas. :)

Leave a Reply

